#mybodytude: Learning to Trust and Love My Body – Scars and All

Kristina Schermerpanelist for our July 14 Breast Cancer 360 program,  learning to love her body after breast cancer for the #mybodytude campaign. Read other posts in the mybodytude photo diary series.

Most people go through times of both positive and negative body image. After her breast cancer diagnosis, Kristina Schermer developed a negative body image and had to learn how to love and trust her body. She discusses her experience rebuilding her self esteem in this #mybodytude photo diary.

Join Kristina and others on Instagram – snap a selfie and use the hashtag #mybodytude for the chance to win a Visa gift card!

Visit LBBC.ORG to learn more about this selfie contest and campaign.

2016 Photo 1

September of 2014, I was 26 years old. BRCA 2 positive and a year in recovery for an eating disorder. I had worked so hard to learn to love my body just the way it was and could have never anticipated it being forced to change as a result of cancer. Breast cancer was a new step in recovery, a new place to look myself in the mirror and love my body for what it is and what it will become…. Scars and all. #mybodytude #mybodytude #breastcancer #breastcancerawareness #bodyimage #bodypositivity #ayacsm #bcsm #bodypositive

2016 Photo 2

The day I stood in front of my sink brushing my hair as it fell at my feet, I knew it was time. I gathered my closest friends and drank champagne while we cried and laughed shaving my head. Loving a bald head was a new step in loving the body I have…. #mybodytude #breastcancer #breastcancerawareness #bodyimage #bodypositivity #ayacsm #bcsm #bodypositive

2016 Photo 3

With my shiny new head, and loss of weight due to chemotherapy. I embraced the end of chemo by celebrating at the Houston Rodeo with my parents. This photo is a symbol of strength, and a woman I am so proud to be today. #mybodytude #breastcancer #breastcancerawareness #bodyimage #bodypositivity #ayacsm #bcsm #bodypositive

2016 Photo 4

As I recovered and my hair grew, I remained in menopause and slowly began to gain weight. The menopause and tamoxifen only accelerated this process. I remained hopeful and honest about my struggles in how much my body fluctuated but never stopped trusting it to balance out. Even today it still seems to be adjusting…. #mybodytude #breastcancer #breastcancerawareness #bodyimage #bodypositivity #ayacsm #bcsm #bodypositive

2016 Photo 5

One year from being diagnosed I honored my journey by running 13.1 miles. Each mile I dedicated to a particular part of my breast cancer year. Just seven months from completed chemo I crossed the line with my sister at the Denver Rock N Roll Half Marathon. It is amazing what the body can do. #mybodytude #breastcancer #breastcancerawareness #bodyimage #bodypositivity #ayacsm #bcsm #bodypositive #halfmarathon #rnrhalfmarathon #rnrdenver

2016 Photo 6

This photo taken just a few weeks ago. Still wearing hats, smiling and continued to honor and love my body for not only surviving but allowing me to live life full and with great joy. #mybodytude #breastcancer #breastcancerawareness #bodyimage #bodypositivity #ayacsm #bcsm #bodypositive

Share your bodytude after breast cancer on Instagram with #mybodytude! Follow these instructions for the chance to win a gift card for joining the campaign.

See what others are posting to #mybodytude on Instagram.

Get more information and hear more personal stories during our free program on Thursday, July 14, Love, Sex and Relationships: Body Acceptance After Diagnosis.


Kristina Schermer was diagnosed with BRCA2-associated breast cancer one year ago, just weeks before her 27th birthday. She had fertility preservation, a double mastectomy and chemotherapy. Ms. Schermer works for a private real estate equity firm and enjoys biking, watching sports, trying new restaurants, sharing a good glass of wine with friends and traveling the world. She has a blog, www.myheartspitterpatter.com. Follow her on Instagram: @kmschermer.

2 thoughts on “#mybodytude: Learning to Trust and Love My Body – Scars and All

  1. Pingback: Living Beyond Breast Cancer – Learning to Trust and Love My Body – Scars and All » my hearts pitter patter

  2. Hello
    friends this might be very helpful, My grand pa was diagnosed with cancer last year, we were all sad, but luckily after watching and learning about Jefferson cannabis oil, there was hope,
    we got the oil and used it, now my grand pa is free from pains. Thank God, I can give you my grand pa doctors contact where we got the cannabis oil from. Email the doctor through this
    , Email me for a lasting solution to Overcome your lost of appetite, cure insomnia, pains,
    Cancer, Anxiety Disorders,Major Depression and MANYMORE..
    Email…..citychemistpharmacy1975@gmail.com
    TEXT..(443) 203-8304

Leave a Reply

