#mybodytude: Coping with Changes from Breast Cancer at Age 21

Meagan Anderson’s #mybodytude photo diary on having breast cancer at age 21.  Read other posts in the mybodytude photo diary series.

Women diagnosed with breast cancer in their teens and 20s have unique needs and challenges, especially when it comes to body image. Meagan Anderson shares her experience diagnosed at age 21 in this post for the #mybodytude campaign.

Join Meagan and others: go to Instagram and share your selfie after a breast cancer diagnosis! Use #mybodytude and you’ll have the chance to win a Visa gift card!

Visit LBBC.ORG to learn more about this selfie contest and campaign.

My name is Meagan, and that is 21 year old me! I haven’t had short hair since I was in elementary school and loved my long hair. In a few short months my entire world would turn upside down. I’ll be telling you a little about #mybodytude and how it changed at getting diagnosed at 21! #mybodytude #breastcancer #breastcancerawareness #bodyimage #bodypositivity #ayacsm #bcsm #bodypositive

I took this picture the day before I was diagnosed. Smiling after having a small surgery and thinking I was going to start getting better. Oddly enough I didn’t cry when I was told I had cancer but I cried when I had a clump of hair come out in my hand. #mybodytude #breastcancer #breastcancerawareness #bodyimage #bodypositivity #ayacsm #bcsm #bodypositive

I hated being bald, people would make rude comments to me or call me a man. I bought a wig but I think my expectations were to high because I wanted it to be like my own hair. So I wore beanies… A lot! #mybodytude #breastcancer #breastcancerawareness #bodyimage #bodypositivity #ayacsm #bcsm #bodypositive

I finished chemo after what seemed like an eternity, but was only 3 months. Around 3 weeks after chemo ended my hair started to come back! Thankfully it came back all at once, which was awesome! #mybodytude #breastcancer #breastcancerawareness #bodyimage #bodypositivity #ayacsm #bcsm #bodypositive

This picture was taken about a month ago, at 11 months after diagnosis! I get a lot of compliments from doctors, nurses, and friends about how fast it’s growing in. I’m beyond happy it’s growing back and with it my confidence grows more and more. Not just because of my hair but because I’ve adopted #mybodytude of if you don’t like me or judge me over something I had no control over then that’s your problem. If you want to hear more about my story check out the living beyond breast cancer event on the 14th, where I’ll be one of the people speaking! #mybodytude #breastcancer #breastcancerawareness #bodyimage #bodypositivity #ayacsm #bcsm #bodypositive

Share your bodytude after breast cancer on Instagram with #mybodytude! Follow these instructions for the chance to win a gift card for joining the campaign.

See what others are posting to #mybodytude on Instagram.

Get more information and hear more of Meagan’s story during our free program on Thursday, July 14, Love, Sex and Relationships: Body Acceptance After Diagnosis.

One thought on “#mybodytude: Coping with Changes from Breast Cancer at Age 21

Leave a Reply

