#mybodytude: Physical Changes and Clothes Shopping After Stage IV

Bald Ballerina and Hear My Voice: Metastatic Breast Cancer Outreach Volunteer Maggie Kudirka’s #mybodytude post on her body image and clothing style changes after a metastatic breast cancer diagnosis. Read other posts in the mybodytude photo diary series.

 

Your attitude toward your body and how you express it may change after a breast cancer diagnosis and treatment. In this photo diary, Bald Ballerina Maggie Kudirka discusses how treatment for metastatic breast cancer changed her approach to clothes shopping and her overall “bodytude”.

Read Maggie’s photo diary and share your bodytude about breast cancer and body image on Instagram! Use #mybodytude and you’ll have the chance to win a Visa gift card!

Visit LBBC.ORG to learn more about this selfie contest and campaign.

1st picture

I’m Maggie, also known as the Bald Ballerina, diagnosed at age 23 with metastatic breast cancer. I was a thin but curvy dancer with a full bust – far from the small-breasted ideal ballerina shape. I often wished my breasts were much, much smaller. It would make fitting into costumes and finding clothes that fit much easier. #mybodytude #breastcancer #bodyimage #metastaticbreastcancer #terminalbreastcancer

2nd Picture

Before I was diagnosed, I wore bright, colorful clothes; there were very few neutrals in my closet. I don’t know if it was because I was more carefree or if it was because I had to wear black leotards in ballet class. #mybodytude #breastcancer #bodyimage #metastaticbreastcancer #terminalbreastcancer

3rd Picture Photo Credit Lucas Chilczuk

One of the challenges of being a dancer with a full bust is keeping your chest from becoming a distraction. You don’t want people watching your bust go up and down during a jumping combination or checking out your cleavage when you bend forward. So I had to find good, supportive bras and then find leotards that covered up straps. (Photo Credit: Lucas Chilczuk) #mybodytude #breastcancer #bodyimage #metastaticbreastcancer #terminalbreastcancer

4th Picture

The morning after my double mastectomy was one of the happiest days of my life. The source of my cancer was gone and I finally had the body I always wanted – no reconstruction for me! My surgeon Dr Neil Friedman told me that was my silver lining. My smile tells the whole story. #mybodytude #breastcancer #bodyimage #metastaticbreastcancer #terminalbreastcancer

5th Picture. Photo Credit Andrew Holtz

Since I no longer needed a bra, I could wear any kind of leotard – spaghetti straps, low back, one shoulder, etc. I loved the freedom this offered me. Later that year, I worked with one of my favorite choreographers on a new piece. It was a relief that I did not need to worry about how supportive the costume would be. Photo credit Andrew Holtz #mybodytude #breastcancer #bodyimage #metastaticbreastcancer #terminalbreastcancer

6th Picture

Cancer raised my awareness of the toxic chemicals that are ubiquitous in our environment, not only in our food and household items, but also in the fibers used to make our clothing. I now make an effort to purchase clothes made from organic, sustainable fibers that are undyed or dyed using non-toxic natural dyes. As a result, my color palette has become more muted and neutral. I appreciate the subtle shades of undyed natural fibers like wool, linen, and cotton and I like that no toxic chemicals were used to produce or dye the fibers. #mybodytude #breastcancer #bodyimage #metastaticbreastcancer #terminalbreastcancer

Share your bodytude after breast cancer on Instagram with #mybodytude! Follow these instructions for the chance to win a gift card for joining the campaign.

Learn more about body image, dating and relationships during our free program on Thursday, July 14, Love, Sex and Relationships: Body Acceptance After Diagnosis.


Maggie Kudirka, known on social media as the Bald Ballerina, was diagnosed with stage IV breast cancer in 2014 at age 23.  She was a member of the Joffrey Concert Group in New York City before the diagnosis put her dancing career on hold. Following surgery, Maggie went back in the studio to work on regaining her strength, stamina and technique. She hopes to return to dancing in New York City again. Learn more about Maggie on her website, baldballerina.org, and follow her on Instagram: @baldballerina.

Leave a Reply

