mybodytude: Losing Your Hair as a Hairstylist

Hair stylist Allyson Lynch shares a photo diary on hair loss, body image and breast cancer for our blog and Instagram campaign, #mybodytude

A reality of breast cancer: it not only changes your body, but also your bodytude (the attitude you have toward your body and how you express your attidue to life), too! Allyson Lynch kicks off our #mybodytude Campaign with her story about hair loss as a stylist.

Read Allyson’s photo diary and share your bodytude about breast cancer and body image on Instagram! Use #mybodytude and you’ll have the chance to win a Visa gift card!

Visit LBBC.ORG to learn more about this selfie contest and campaign.

Allyson 1

My name is Allyson and this is 26 year old me. All smiles after growing my hair long for a few years and finally mastering my own blowout. Haha. Unbeknownst to me that would all soon change. I’m here to tell a little part of my story and showing what #mybodytude was like losing your hair as a hairstylist.

Allyson 2

My biggest fear was seeing giant clumps of hair falling out in my hands, so, instead of waiting for the inevitable I wanted to take control. I had a head shaving party right before my first treatment and some of my closest friends and family shaved their heads with me. Having that support was one of the biggest gifts I received. It was hard to see the hair go that I had just spent so much time growing out but in a weird way it was freeing, I kinda felt bad ass like G.I. Jane.

Allyson 3

After a while I totally embraced the bare head, it was awesome and wigs were way too hot, especially when you were having a hot flash. Yea, I could have rocked that baldness 24/7 but what got me the most was all the other hair – eyebrows, eyelashes, nose hair! I did what I could with makeup when I felt up to all that. Being called “fella” in public a few times did not help with #mybodytude at this point.

Allyson 4

As my hair grew back “old man style” – pretty much there was hair on all sides and the top of my head had bald spots for so long. I still refused to wear wigs for longer than a few hours, even though I collected quite a few because my hair stylist side got really excited for the options. But until my hair started to grow in without any super visable bald spot I just continued to shave my head up until a couple months after treatment ended.

Allyson 5

And this is me today at 28 years old, just about a year and a half post treatment. I’ve taken the weird growing back stages in stride, experimenting and having fun with my colors and cuts. I’m loving my long pixie-hawk I started to sport earlier this year although I miss the ease of not having to do a thing with it. Cancer taught me how to say “screw it” and that small philosophy helps keep #mybodytude more positive. Life’s short, its ok if your hair is too.

Share your bodytude after breast cancer on Instagram with #mybodytude! Follow these instructions for the chance to win a gift card for joining the campaign.

Discover more insight and tips around body changes, dating and relationships during our free program on Thursday, July 14, Love, Sex and Relationships: Body Acceptance After Diagnosis.


Allyson Lynch is a hairstylist who  lives and works in suburban Philadelphia. She was diagnosed with breast cancer in April 2014. She later learned she was a carrier of the BRCA 1 gene mutation. Follow her on Instagram at @horror_cosmic.

One thought on “mybodytude: Losing Your Hair as a Hairstylist

Leave a Reply

