Weathering Through The Darkest Moments

post 1Today we would like to introduce Dana Donofree, LBBC friend and supporter but first time LBBC blogger! Dana’s story will span three blog posts as she shares her story and how her breast cancer journey impacted her life and career so be sure to check back to learn more! 

In the weeks leading up to my 28th birthday, cancer was the absolute last thing on my mind. I was, after all, putting together the last-minute preparations for my wedding and planning a trip back home to Ohio for my bridal shower. My career in fashion was taking off, and I was starting to realize how happy and lucky I was. Plus, I was young, taking care of myself and doing all the “right,” healthy things I would read about.

Oddly after several conversations with my best friend and sister about finding lumps in their breasts, that turned out to be benign, I guess you could say I must have had a heightened awareness to checking my breasts. It dawned on me that I too should do a self exam, but I didn’t, I had just been to my annual check up and if there was something there the doctor would find it, right? Well, it wasn’t until one day in the shower, when my wrist brushed against my armpit…yes, my armpit, that I even noticed a lump. After the initial shock of finding it, I sort of shrugged it off. My friend’s turned out to be nothing. I was going to be fine, too.

Only I wasn’t. The day before my birthday, surrounded by family, friends and bridesmaids I got the news. Invasive ductal carcinoma. Triple positive. I was staring down multiple surgeries, chemo (!) and all of the what-ifs that come along with the cancer. Everything in my life changed that day.

Obviously, my first move was to get ready for the grueling treatment and make sure I was in the best shape as possible. I was after all training for my wedding day and eating healthy and working out. I continued working my design job and tried not let cancer run my life. The May wedding got postponed, but my fiance, Paul, remained by my side throughout the whole ordeal. I got a bilateral mastectomy, spacers, reconstruction (though I opted out of nipple reconstruction). I played through the pain, I weathered the darkest moments the best I could, and I got myself involved with young survivor support groups.

Those groups were vital to my well-being. They helped me realize I wasn’t the only 20-something losing my breasts to this awful disease. They made me laugh, held my hand through the down days when I was feeling anything but beautiful and they helped me understand all of my emotions and the chemo side effects. It became such a part of my existence, I made it a point, once I recovered, to stop any woman I spotted sporting a headscarf, hear her story and pass along words of encouragement. They are also the reason why I am so supportive of organizations like Living Beyond Breast Cancer. LBBC provides a beacon of light in the cancer darkness, guiding women to resources and support networks to assist them in finding the right match to help with their treatments and recovery

Dana was diagnosed with triple positive, infiltrative ductal carcinoma at 27. She currently lives in Philadelphia with her loving and super supportive husband. They love hiking and biking when the weather allows for it, and dancing and yoga to stay healthy! She fills her days working on AnaOno, a lingerie line for breast cancer survivors, and loves every moment of it! 

3 thoughts on “Weathering Through The Darkest Moments

  1. Pingback: Now Life Is Forever Altered | Living Beyond Breast Cancer's Blog

  2. Pingback: “Cancer, Without You, I Wouldn’t Be The Woman I Am Today” | Living Beyond Breast Cancer's Blog

Leave a Reply

