Julie Anne Mauro: “Strength in the Face of Great Uncertainty”

Sometimes getting out your feelings can be just the therapy you need. Living Beyond Breast Cancer offers a “Writing the Journey” Seasonal Writing Series that offers instruction and encouragement for women affected by breast cancer to use this creative outlet to express themselves. On this second installment of the LBBC Blog‘s Writer’s Corner, Julie Anne Mauro shares who own musing on diagnosis and LIVING with metastatic disease.

I Quit Cancer - April 30, 2012 – after an extensive month of tests and trying to get on a drug trial and finally getting on a treatment that is working.

I quit cancer

Seriously, I quit

It’s not a fun job

It certainly doesn’t pay well

And it just takes up too much of my time

I’m tired of Pink

I’m tired of Anti-pink

I’m tired of just being a number

Tired of being a patient

Tired of blood draws and infusions

Tired of looking in the mirror and not seeing myself anymore

Just the battle scars

Just the bitterness

Tired of thinking, will this be the last time I ……

*          *          *          *          *

Untitled – August  7, 2012

Can you do something more than just a prayer?

But fight for me

Fight for me

Show the world that I was once there

Fight for me

Oh fight for me

Let me know that somebody really cares

Fight for me

Oh fight for me

Show me there’s more than blank and empty stares

Oh fight for me

Oh fight for me

Even when I’m weary and on my last breath

Fight for me

Please fight for me

*          *          *          *          *

Julie Anne is a recent transplant to Arizona from New Jersey,  married, and a mother of 2 boys (8 and 14). In July of 2009, a week before her 44th birthday, she was diagnosed with HER2+ breast cancer. After chemotherapy, a bi-lateral mastectomy and radiation, in May of 2010 her came up clean. She “beat cancer.” One month later, she found a lump in her chest wall–her cancer had spread to the lymphatic system and she was diagnosed Stage IV.  Since then the cancer has spread to her lungs, but she is still here and living strong every day with Metastatic disease.  Her motto is “Strength in the face of great uncertainty.”  Writing has been a great release for her and a way to express herself living in a world of unknowns.

Visit the LBBC Events Page for more information on the “Writing the Journey” Fall Writing Series

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “Julie Anne Mauro: “Strength in the Face of Great Uncertainty””

  1. Young Says:

    Fda standards , only in USA the truth is that
    , i would not now what they believe on yet: 1 . a single real cigarete hawe 4000 **** in it or more , ok hey die simply because
    yo perform cancer or perhaps who nows , that’s absolutly true. 2. one E-Cig includes i do not realize is just a exampel , 3-100 **** in it . what hey prefere to smoke if you want to give up ?? ask yourself choose the 3-100 or maybe 3,000 but not somting the same like 40000 chemical compounds . so my estimation **** FDA or even what the **** is always that name .

  2. www.newyorkneedsyou.org Says:

    I want to to thank you for this very good read!
    ! I definitely loved every bit of it. I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post…

  3. nizzuquvea@yahoo.com Says:

    Advance Sounders de demi-finales de la Coupe des ?tats-Unis ouvertes. Les Sounders avaient essay

  4. crossfit syracuse Says:

    fantastic post, very informative. I wonder why the other experts of this sector don’t realize this.
    You must proceed your writing. I am sure, you have
    a huge readers’ base already!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 177 other followers

