Jaime Rossano: What is a MOTHER?

In honor of Mother’s Day, Living Beyond Breast Cancer welcomes back to two bloggers who wrote for us throughout the entirety of their treatment. In this particular entry, Jaime Rossano shares what Mother’s Day means to her as a woman living beyond breast cancer.

A mother can be defined in so many ways, but the ways that come to my mind are: a female, a friend; she is loving, caring, supportive, she helps to clean up your mess, she makes you do things that you don’t want to, she tells you the truth even though sometimes the truth may hurt, she holds your hand when you fall down, she makes you feel better when you are sick, she combs your hair when you can’t reach, she washes you back, she irons your clothes when they are too wrinkled, she makes you laugh, she lets you cry, she gives you words of encouragement when you are down, she loves you no matter what the situation is, she is someone who feels being a mom is not a job but something that she loves,  she’s your mentor, she’s your role model, she is the foundation to what made you who you are today.

During my journey I have found myself surrounded by many mothers. Who says a mother has to be the women who gave birth to you. A mother can be anyone you want to be. I can say I have three mothers,   they are my closest friends: my mom, Nancy; my BFF, Jenn; and most importantly my PINK SISTER, Diane. Without these three women I don’t know if I would have had the strength to continue without their ongoing support and love. They stood me up when all I wanted to do was fall over, they held my hand during the roughest times during my storm, they never let me down, they never left me alone, they gave me the strength I needed not to let go.  Because of my three mothers, I became strong when I was weak. I counted on them more than I have ever counted on someone before.

My mom has always been so supportive and has never let me down. She has always routed me on no matter if I was about to fail. She has been my cheering committee throughout my whole life and without her I have to say I don’t know where I would be today. When the days got dark and the nights got cold she was there to hold me tight and whisper everything will be alright. I can’t help but get choked up every time I think about my journey with breast cancer. The scared look in her eyes as she tried to convince me everything was going to be all right. I know it scares her every day that she could have lost her baby.  Mom, you are my rock and you help me to get through the storms that have come my way. I know no words need to be said but mom, I LOVE YOU and you are my FOREVER FRIEND.

Jaime(right) with her Mother, Nancy.

Jenn, oh what can I say about Jenn? I know? She is my super glue. She holds me together when the world starts falling apart. We were inseparable when we were in school together. You know the routine: everyone grows up. My life was missing something and I could never figure out what it was. It was her, my best friend. When I got sick she was the first one to come running to hold me close and never let me go. She held back her tears and let me let the flood gates run dry. My mom had said that at the beginning of your journey, you will have sick friends (those there while you are sick) and you will have FOREVER friends (those who will never leave your side even if time has gone by). Jenn, you are my FOREVER FRIEND. I thank you for never letting go.

And then there was number three, Diane. Diane, you are my guardian angel. I thank you for your support and for keeping me balanced. I’m glad to know we can share our side-effect stories and just laugh because we know how it feels. You have given me a sense of relief and you have taken some of my worries away. We can compare doctors’ appointments, lab work, exams, and radiology tests and so on. It gives me a sense of comfort to know that you are there. You have made me stronger and I want to thank you for that. We understand each other because we understand the language of breast cancer.  Thank you for always being there to comfort me.

Happy Mother’s day to all WOMEN out there.

How are you honoring the women in your life this Mother’s Day? Visit our website, here,  to make a donation to Living Beyond Breast Cancer in HONOR of the “mothers” in your life.

2 thoughts on “Jaime Rossano: What is a MOTHER?

  1. Jaime we are the best of friends and I know that if I was in the same boat you would have been there for me too!! Without that sucky thing called cancer I am not sure that we would have realized what was missing in both of our lives which was each other. I thank GOD every day for bringing us back together again cause I dont know what I would do with out you!! You are the best friend a person could ask for and of course we are each others super glue. I am so proud of all you have been able to accomplish during your treatments and what you have done after. You are a remarkable women and If someday I ever have to go through what you went through I have a great role model to follow. You are a great mother and friend and I thank you for that!!! I love you and always will!! Thanks for honoring me with this LBBC blog you truely are amazing!!
    The perfect pair of shoes will never wear out!!
    Love ya lots,
    Your BFF
    Jenn

  2. WOW, Sweet Pea thank you so much for this beautiful blog and for being such an amazing daughter. Tears, tears, and more tears as I read this on my i phone while at work, probably not such a good idea….I was sobbing in the hallways!! Your beautiful words touched my heart and made me rewind back to the past 18 months and what we have been thru together. An overwhelming rush of emotions! I am so proud of you and your strength, commitment, and willingness to give back to others now traveling this journey called cancer. You are so very strong and have learned to live each day to the fullest. I also want to wish you a Happy Mothers Day! You are such an amazing mommy to little Ronnie and his is so very blessed. Thank you sweet pea for this beautiful tribute to all of us. I would also like to send a very special thank you to Jenn and Diane for being such amazing support to you. I too appreciate both of you! I love you Sweet Pea and I will walk beside you always; today tomorrow and forever!!

Leave a Reply

