Introducing Laura Barnes

This week, Living Beyond Breast Cancer introduces poet Laura Barnes.  Originally from England and having lived and worked as a teacher, trainer and life coach across four continents, Laura resides in Gilbert, Arizona.  She’s the Owner/Founder/CEO/Chief Coffee Maker at Your Potential Power, a thriving heart-centered life coaching practice and an online instructor at the Southwest Institute of Healing Arts in Tempe.

I am not a victim of breast cancer

I am not a victim of breast cancer. I am experiencing breast cancer.

I am not dying. I am living.

I am not curing. I am healing and restoring.

I am not fearing. I am loving and trusting.

I am not fighting. I am ceasing all hostility and conflict.

I am not weak or diminished. I am strong and whole and complete.

I am not coping or hoping. I am giving and receiving, creating and conceiving.

I am not crying. I am laughing until the tears run down my leg.

My body is not my enemy. My body is my loving friend, my gentle guide.

My life story is not history. My life story is legendary.

I am not powerless. I am powerful beyond measure.

I am not a drop in the ocean. I am the ocean in a drop.

I am not scattered. I am aligned.

I am not being destroyed. I am building my sacred stature.

I am not trapped or caged. I am as free as a feathery fledgling.

My body is not a muddy puddle of despair. My body is a hallowed temple of spirit.

I am not filled with shadows. I am filled with illuminating light.

I am not a passive puppet. I am an active advocate and enthusiastic participant.

I am not tired and bested. I am tied and invested.

I am not without a voice or meaning or purpose. I am an angelic messenger.

I am not discarded. I am needed.

I am not descending, dragging or faltering. I am consistently inspiring and uplifting.

I am not dwelling in the reflections of the past or the projections of the future. I am joyfully dancing naked in the unfolding mystery of the present moment.

I am not alone or abandoned. I am infinitely connected by the soft, silky vibrational threads of love.

I will not forget. I will remember.

I will not burn out. I will sparkle forever.

– Laura Barnes

Born with a congenital heart defect, Laura has spent her life actively “healing hearts” in one form or another. S he is currently in training for her June, 2012 climb of Mount Kilimanjaro for charity. Her “raves and faves:”: Flip flops. Smiles. Setting, achieving and surpassing goals. Hugs. Blankets with sleeves. Beauty. The power of a simple *thank you.* Laughing with family and friends. Courage.

She’d love to hear about your life journey.  Contact her on Facebook or at Your Potential Power.

2 thoughts on “Introducing Laura Barnes

  1. Very inspiring…you ahve creat such strong and positivele images. Those of us with Stage IV BC can gain much from these words to help see us through an uncertain time. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

