Your Giving Means More Living

The entry was written by Randi Rentz, who recenlty participated in an LBBC photoshoot:

I truly believe that life without breast cancer will happen, but how quickly is up to all of us.  Are you scratching your head right now with a bit of uncertainty? Well, listen up everybody! We all need to fight the battle today to create a tomorrow that is free from this disease. How can we work together to achieve this goal?

It’s simple and it’s achieved through one word, “giving.” This didn’t hit me until I read the mission of Living Beyond Breast Cancer. “LBBC is dedicated to empowering all women affected by breast cancer to live as long as possible with the best quality of life.” I thought long and hard about this statement and realized that this organization genuinely cares about resources unique to all women affected by breast cancer. The word, “giving,” a verb, may mean many things to many people, but in the breast cancer world,  “giving” ensures women that they don’t have to make this journey alone in the “Pink Bubble.”

Without generous donor support, LBBC’s educational programs would not be accessible. Many of their programs are FREE or low in cost, which was very important to me when I was diagnosed in 2008 with DCIS, Stage 1 breast cancer. I was able to connect with many women of various ages and ethnic backgrounds through workshops, written publications and peer-support services. In addition, I was able to share similar experiences, learn, laugh, cry, and create a new definition of “living.” We had an impact on one another, and to this day, I still call many of these women my friends. I am so fortunate that I found this national organization with a staff of devoted and talented individuals.

I found the educational programming to be very instrumental in my healing and recovery. Although I have been cancer-free for almost four years, I still attend conferences and participate in Yoga on the Steps, LBBC’s signature fundraising event.  I believe in “giving” back by contributing to the cause. I want to continue to take action to defeat breast cancer, not just by a generous donation, but by working to help people gain access to education, breast cancer screening, and treatment. BUT, I can’t do this alone.

With your help, we can work together to educate others and save lives. Living Beyond Breast cancer continues to serve as a model for other nonprofit organizations by constantly developing new and effective education and support curriculums to meet the needs of the breast cancer community. Through generous donor support, highly specialized publications will continue to remain a top priority to best meet the changing needs of all women affected by breast cancer. It will allow the best and brightest minds to reach more women than ever before.

Unfortunately, breast cancer thrives in a very bad economy. When there is limited “giving” and contributions, it’s easier for breast cancer to continue its deadly toll. Did you know that this disease takes one loved one’s life every 13 minutes here in the United States? I want to be part of the commitment to help expand educational programming, outreach and support services. Don’t you?  

By working together, we can come so far. Let’s hope that 2012 will be a year of continued “giving,” commitment and a cure!

(L – R) Karen Cooke, Randi Rentz, Carole Weeks, Ping Lu, Penny L. Reiff

If you, like Randi, are interested in making a contribution to help LBBC continue in our mission to empower all women affected by breast cancer to live as long as possible with the best quality of life, visit our website’s donation page to learn more about how your donation will make a difference.

One thought on “Your Giving Means More Living

  1. commented on 3D Nipple and Areola Tattooing 27 seconds agoThis is my second battle with breast cancer and through the mastectomy and reconstructive process I found a WONDERFUL product that I want to share with women. They are temporary tattoos of nipples. They are designed for us women who have gone through a mastectomy and are either choosing not to have the nipple reconstruction or for those of us who are waiting for the final phase (nipple reconstruction or permanent tattooing).
    The RubOnNipples allows me to feel complete and like a woman again. They even have 3-D effects so they look real!! They last about two weeks and come in more than 12 shades.
    I’m excited because they allow me to not only look more normal, but I get to play with the different shades and placement before the permanent nipples are constructed.
    I HIGHLY encourage you to try them if you are in need.
    You can go to RubOnNipples.com and check it out.

Leave a Reply

