Healing Through Poetry

Lisa Marsella’s  THE TWELVE DAYS OF CHRISTMAS WITH CANCER is this month’s Healing Through Poetry feature:

On the first day of Christmas
My cancer sent to me
A Dose of Reality

On the second day of Christmas
My cancer sent to me
2 Mangled Breasts
And a Dose of Reality

On the third day of Christmas
My cancer sent to me
3 Different Surgeries
2 Mangled Breasts
And a Dose of Reality

On the fourth day of Christmas
My cancer sent to me
4 Trips to the ER
3 Different Surgeries
2 Mangled Breasts
And a Dose of Reality

On the fifth day of Christmas
My cancer sent to me
5 LONELY LOCKS OF HAIR
4 Trips to the ER

3 Different Surgeries
2 Mangled Breasts
And a Dose of Reality

On the sixth day of Christmas
My cancer sent to me
6 Months of Treatments
5 LONELY LOCKS OF HAIR
4 Trips to the ER

3 Different Surgeries
2 Mangled Breasts
And a Dose of Reality

On the seventh day of Christmas
My cancer sent to me
7 Week Radiation
6 Months of Treatments
5 LONELY LOCKS OF HAIR
4 Trips to the ER

3 Different Surgeries
2 Mangled Breasts
And a Dose of Reality

On the eighth day of Christmas
My cancer sent to me
8 Sets of X-rays
7 Week Radiation
6 Months of Treatments
5 LONELY LOCKS OF HAIR
4 Trips to the ER

3 Different Surgeries
2 Mangled Breasts
And a Dose of Reality

On the ninth day of Christmas
My cancer sent to me
9 Friends a Fretting,
8 Sets of X-rays
7 Week Radiation
6 Months of Treatments
5 LONELY LOCKS OF HAIR
4 Trips to the ER

3 Different Surgeries
2 Mangled Breasts
And a Dose of Reality

On the tenth day of Christmas
My cancer sent to me
10 Scarves of Color
9 Friends a Fretting
8 Sets of X-rays
7 Week Radiation
6 Months of Treatments
5 LONELY LOCKS OF HAIR
4 Trips to the ER

3 Different Surgeries
2 Mangled Breasts
And a Dose of Reality

On the eleventh day of Christmas
My cancer sent to me
11 Doctor Visits
10 Scarves of Color
9 Friends a Fretting
8 Sets of X-rays
7 Week Radiation
6 Months of Treatment
5 LONELY LOCKS OF HAIR
4 Trips to the ER

3 Different Surgeries
2 Mangled Breasts
And a Dose of Reality

On the twelfth day of Christmas
My cancer sent to me
12 Months of Crying
11 Doctor Visits
10 Scarves of Color
9 Friends a Fretting
8 Sets of X-rays
7 Week Radiation
6 Months of Treatment
5 LONELY LOCKS OF HAIR
4 Trips to the ER

3 Different Surgeries
2 Mangled Breasts
And a Dose of Reality

 

 Lisa Marsella tells her story about her journey with breast cancer.

2 thoughts on “Healing Through Poetry

Leave a Reply

