A Princess at LBBC’s Gala

This entry was written by Jackie Roth, PhD. Jackie is a Postdoctoral Fellow at The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia who was diagnosed with Stage III A breast cancer at the age of 28. Every other Friday, throughout the entire year of 2011, Jackie will share a blog entry about her breast cancer experience. This year-long blog series is in honor of LBBC’s 20th anniversary.

To read Jackie’s previous entries, enter “ Jackie Roth” in the search box on this site.

A few weeks ago my husband Ron went into school to meet with his teacher, Professor Beth Haas.  After talking with her for a while, Ron found out that she is a future member of the Board at LBBC!  She asked Ron if we were attending the upcoming Butterfly Ball, which is the annual LBBC fundraising gala.  We knew about the gala, but we did not have any plans to attend this year.  With Ron still being in school and me just having graduated we do not really have the means to do a lot of extra things right now. 

Later that evening he checked his email and found an email from Professor Haas.  In the email, she said that she and her husband Steve would like to invite Ron and I to the Butterfly Ball as their guests!  We were so excited – I could not believe that someone who I hadn’t even met would do something so generous for us.  We accepted the invitation to the ball, which was just under two weeks away. 

Now came the biggest question of all…what to wear?! I love fashion and clothing so I thought that this occasion was definitely deserving of a new dress.  Plus, since Ron and I do not get dressed up that much we do not own many black tie clothes.  So off to the mall I went!  I chose a long black silk gown that I could dress up or down because I thought it would make a nice staple addition to my wardrobe.  The cowl neck of the dress perfectly hid my imperfections from my double mastectomy surgery while still leaving enough room for me to fit into the dress after reconstruction.  All the dress needed was a hem, so I got it tailored right away! 

Finally the night of the ball was here!  We drove up to the event and entered an amazing space!  It was a warehouse transformed into a night club.  There was white leather furniture, flowers, candles, and hundreds of people.  Ron and I grabbed a cocktail and walked around the room looking at the silent auction items.  Then we found Professor Haas, her husband Steve, and their other friends.  Everyone was so friendly and welcomed us right into their group!  We had some dinner while relaxing in the posh lounges.  Dinner was delicious, but dessert was amazing!  There was a Krispy Kreme doughnut station where you could get as many doughnuts as you wanted! Overwhelmed with choices, Ron and I chose traditional glazed, yum!  There was a candy bar, dozens of cakes, and hundreds of cupcakes.  There were also catered desserts flying by.  We each ate our doughnut and then packed some candy and cupcakes to go!  We finished the night by dancing to the sounds of Jerry Blavat!  Overall it was an amazing night.  It was great to see how an organization like LBBC raises funds to be able to offer the support to women diagnosed with breast cancer.  Being there as a survivor was even more special.  Thank you to Beth and Steve for you generosity and for making me feel like a Princess for the night!

Tell us about an experience in which you felt like a princess! We want to hear from you! Comment here or on our Facebook page.

2 thoughts on “A Princess at LBBC’s Gala

Leave a Reply

