It’s a celebration — clap, clap, BRAVO

This entry was written by Jaime Rossano. Jaime was diagnosed with 2B invasive ductal carcinoma breast cancer. Jaime is a college student pursuing a degree in Humanities and Social Science Every other Friday, Jaime will share a blog entry about her breast cancer experience. This year-long blog series is in honor of LBBC’s 20th anniversary.

To read Jaime’s previous entries, enter “Jaime Rossano” in the search box on this site.

Usually when you talk about celebrating you think about birthdays, holidays, graduations, weddings, and so on. You think about the dancing, the balloons, the food, and the people you are spending your time with. You think about celebrating things that make you smile.

You don’t think about celebrating your battle with cancer. My husband has been telling me over the past few months he wants to throw me a party to celebrate my accomplishments over the past year. I keep putting him off on the back burner.

Why do I need to celebrate? Why do I want people to pat me on the back and say “way to go”? Why am I celebrating having my boobs removed, six months of chemotherapy that took my world through a whirlwind and 28 treatments of radiation treatments that permanently discolored my skin?

What am I celebrating?

At first I was completely against the idea of celebrating, but lately I have been thinking a little more about it. I think of everything that happened to me in the last year and here is what I can celebrate.

I can celebrate that fact that I continued my online classes over the past year and will graduate with my Bachelors degree in May 2012.

I can celebrate the amazing doctors, nurses and techs that I have met along my journey who have helped to save my life.

I can celebrate the fact that I can make more memories with my family.

I can celebrate all of the things that I have done to pay it forward.

I can celebrate the fact that I have traveled a journey that not many women my age will probably ever travel.

I can celebrate that I have been tested to all limited physical, emotion, spiritual – and I succeeded.

I can celebrate that I can open my eyes everyday and make new memories.

I can celebrate my husband and I making our marriage stronger.

I can celebrate that I DID IT.

I can celebrate that I made it through all the treatments.

I can celebrate the new friends I met along the way.

I can celebrate that it has been a year since I was diagnosed.

I can celebrate that I am ALIVE!

I am sure there are more things that I can celebrate but this is just to name a few.

Why have you been afraid to celebrate? Do you have plans on celebrating?

11 thoughts on “It’s a celebration — clap, clap, BRAVO

  1. You are a person who needs to be celebrated!! You have over come so much and are doing so much for others!! Why not celebrate YOU!! Wonderful loving and caring you!! just because cancer tried to take you away it didnt win yes did it take some of the old you away physically sure and are there going to be some scares to prove it sure, but it made you who you are today and no one would replace this new beautiful positive you!! Love you so much and I am so proud of every accomplishment you have made along the way!! And all the great things you have to come!!

  2. Celebrate? I certainly do, each day, but yesterday was special in that it was my 81st Birthday. I have Metastatic Breast cancer that has spread to my lung, liver, lymph nodes in my chest, and bones (sternum), diagnosed in 2005, 10 years after my mastectomy, and thought all those years that I was cancer free.
    I celebrate that I was chosen to be in both the 2010 and this year’s video, FacesofMBC.org. As I play the organ by ear, I celebrate that I performed at a concert along with a professional organist last month…a life’s dream come true! I celebrate that I have had another year to spend with those I love.
    Marilyn

  3. Marilyn, wow CONGRATULATIONS!!!! A real cause for a celebration. So happy for you. As a three year suvivor, I celebrate the fact that I have come this far. I celebrate with the people who care about me and the friends that I have made along the way. We have not had a party yet other than my 50th birthday party where I was two years out and that was a great big bash with all of my family and close friends. I am so special to have so many people care about me and my well being. God bless all breast cancer patients and SURVIVORS!!! It is an accomplishment to be a SURVIVOR and there are many many more of us than in the past. Hope you are well and happy birthday again Marilyn.

  4. I had a “Cancer Treatment is Over, Let’s Celebrate!” party on November 6, 2011. It was a lovely day; all of my support network over the past year came and celebrated with me.
    Most importantly, it was a good chance for me to take a few moments with all those present in one room to thank them for their love during the most difficult experience of my life.
    I will be forever grateful.
    I think celebrating the end of your treatment journey is important and, for me, provided a sense of closure from that harrowing ordeal.
    Celebrate your accomplishment!
    Melisa
    NC

  5. I have not had a party, but I celebrate today in my own quiet way. Today is the first anniversary of my surgery. I celebrate living, God smiling on me, 26 years of marriage, having eyebrows, having fingernails and toenails, having hair,my family, friends and strangers who prayed for me thru these rough times, but most of all I celebrate that fact that I can talk about my experiences without being ashamed or frighten. Now if I cry, they are tears of joy and triumph. Some people did not make it and I pray for them everyday, as well as the people who did. God is good all the time.

  6. What an encouragement! I was diagnosed ONE YEAR AGO TODAY! I am so thankful to be alive after mastectomy, chemo, radiation and reconstruction – and I am happy – and enjoying thanking God for many of the things Jamie mentioned in her article. What a ride this year has been. THANK YOU FOR THE REMINDER TO BE THANKFUL and to CELEBRATE LIFE!

  7. I can relate to your way of thinking a lot. Once we go thru this battle, we symbolically celebrate with every milestone in the journey. I am celebrating every morning when I wake up and I think…God thank you for one more day alive! I learned to celebrate with the simplest things that I would not consider important before, such as: my ability to lift my arms a little bit higher after the double mastectomy or looking at myself in the mirror and noticing my hair is growing back after chemo. God bless you for sharing your stories with us🙂

Leave a Reply

