Enjoy my good recipe

This entry was written by Jaime Rossano. Jaime was diagnosed with 2B invasive ductal carcinoma breast cancer. Jaime is a college student pursuing a degree in Humanities and Social Science Every other Friday, Jaime will share a blog entry about her breast cancer experience. This year-long blog series is in honor of LBBC’s 20th anniversary.

To read Jaime’s previous entries, enter “Jaime Rossano” in the search box on this site.

Cooper Cancer Institute held their 2nd annual “Pink Roses Teal Magnolias” brunch in honor of Breast Cancer Awareness Month. My “Pink Sister” Diane came with me. I wondered if I’d run into anyone that I actually knew besides my doctors. I did. I ran into an amazing woman who I met while I was going through radiation. It was great to see that she was smiling and looking healthy. As you looked around the room some women were wearing pink to symbolize that they were breast cancer survivors, while other women were wearing teal to symbolize that they were ovarian cancer survivors. Diane and I were surprisingly wearing black. Looking at us, you would never know the journeys we have ventured through in the past year. We both have our hair back and we look healthy. So in a room full of 800 people, how would anyone know we had breast cancer? They didn’t.

I felt a bit guilty because I wasn’t wearing pink. I felt like I was hiding something. Why should I hide the fact that I have been affected by this disease? Why should I be ashamed that I struggled this past year to survive? Why should I be ashamed that I beat breast cancer this time around? The truth is I shouldn’t.

I should be standing proud and with my head held up high because the average person has no idea what we have to go through in order to survive. I have overcome more in my short life than most people overcome in a life time. Do I wish this never happened to me? Of course. But I also have to admit that I wouldn’t change anything that has happened. Going through what I did has shown me what life is really about. Now I enjoy life differently; I enjoy being my “new me;” I enjoy every moment with my family; And more importantly, I enjoy the good I am bringing to this world.

ENJOY LIFE:

Small things are what matter the most to me now. I don’t waste energy sweating the small stuff. Life is too short to worry about what could have been. It is what it is. Enjoy whatever “it” is, make the best out of “it” and always remember, there is a bit of positivity that can surface from any “it” that stems from something negative.

ENJOY THE NEW ME:

I am who I am. My breast cancer experience has made me who I am today. I can’t be ashamed of who I am. I’m learning to embrace who I am.

ENJOY MY FAMILY:

Watching Ronnie grow up and learn new things every day still blows me away. I make a commitment to take time out just for us. My weekends are designated for special family time. We make memories that we will never forget.

ENJOY MY GOOD IN THE WORLD:

It’s a lot easier than it may sound. My first step is to help others smile. I had the pleasure of visiting A. I. Dupont Hospital in Delaware this past week. I spent a lot of time in the Pediatric Hematology/Oncology unit. I donated a check to Brenda of HUGWRAPS a few months ago. With the donation, I asked Brenda to create handmade blankets and pillow cases for the children, who are Pediatric Cancer patients Brenda invited me to tag along with her to deliver the special gift to the children. Seeing the smiles on those little faces made my heart melt.

How did you turn your breast cancer pain into a good purpose? Comment here or on our Facebook page!

Leave a Reply

