An apple a day keeps the cares away – My trip to the BIG APPLE

This entry was written by Jackie Roth, PhD. Jackie is a Postdoctoral Fellow at The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia who was diagnosed with Stage III A breast cancer at the age of 28. Every other Friday, throughout the entire year of 2011, Jackie will share a blog entry about her breast cancer experience. This year-long blog series is in honor of LBBC’s 20th anniversary.

To read Jackie’s previous entries, enter “ Jackie Roth” in the search box on this site.

This past weekend, my husband Ron and I went on a mini vacation. We haven’t had a chance to get away in the year since I was diagnosed, so we took this opportunity to take a small weekend trip!  We went to NYC because there is a lot to do and we have many friends there.

We took a bus up from Philadelphia on Friday night, but got stuck in tons of traffic because we traveled at rush hour.  When we finally got there, we ran to our hotel, dropped off our bags, and headed out to a restaurant to meet up with our friends.  We invited friends from high school, college, graduate school, and even friends that we met in the pool on our honeymoon two years ago!  It was great to get everyone together and just catch up!

The next day Ron and I explored NYC.  We woke up and just started walking around until we found somewhere to have brunch.  Then, we meandered over to the west village where we had our celebrity sighting of the weekend – we literally ran into Brooke Shields!  She was leaving a restaurant. My husband did not notice that it was her at first – but I did!  I resisted the urge to ask for her autograph because I didn’t want to seem like a typical tourist!  So, we continued to explore NYC on foot and by subway for the rest of the afternoon.  I think we walked at least four miles!  I was glad to get back to the hotel before dinner because my legs were really hurting.

That night, after a wonderful Italian dinner, we were able to go see a show on Broadway, Jersey Boys.  It was amazing.  For two hours, I was transported back 50 years ago and I was able to completely escape from myself.  For those two hours, there were no worries, no cancer.  I was in another world.  At the end of the show I was happy that it was a wonderful performance, but I was not happy to come back to my reality.  I didn’t want to leave the theater and the magical atmosphere that took my cares away. 

But, we decided that sleeping in the theater chairs would not be too comfortable so Ron and I decided to walk back to our hotel through Times Square.  Normally we would do anything to avoid the crowds of people, but that night we just wanted to be a part of it all.  We didn’t mind that it took us about an hour to walk just a handful of blocks due to the massive crowds.  The lights and energy in Times Square were just something that we couldn’t pass up. 

On Sunday, we met up with some friends again for brunch and then we walked around to shop for a little bit while waiting for our bus.  Now, I am a big shopper, but this was just overwhelming.  There were so many clothes that I wanted to try on and purchase, but I just couldn’t handle it!  The department stores there are at least 5-floors high.  I’ve decided that I need way more than a weekend to shop in NYC to cover all of the stores that I want to go to!  Looks like I might have to convince Ron to take another trip soon!

To read Jackie’s previous entries, enter “ Jackie Roth” in the search box on this site.

2 thoughts on “An apple a day keeps the cares away – My trip to the BIG APPLE

Leave a Reply

