My plan to help others heal

This entry was written by Jaime Rossano. Jaime was diagnosed with 2B invasive ductal carcinoma breast cancer. Jaime is a college student pursuing a degree in Humanities and Social Science Every other Friday, Jaime will share a blog entry about her breast cancer experience. This year-long blog series is in honor of LBBC’s 20th anniversary.

To read Jaime’s previous entries, enter “Jaime Rossano” in the search box on this site.

My journey through radiation has finally come to a close. I finished on August 10th. It felt great but also scary at the same time.  I started back to work just one day a week to get my feet wet and get reacquainted with society. It’s tough. I still feel like people look at me and say “that’s the girl who had cancer.” But at least they can say “HAD” cancer. I have had so many more emotions this week and I should be celebrating but I can’t yet. I don’t know what I am waiting for. I have been on an emotional roller coaster and I’m ready for it to stop. I know I’m going to have good days and bad days but yet again the bad days are piling up. I’m hanging in there because the best is yet to come.

Through my entire journey I have been touched by so many people: doctors, techs, nurses, other patients, and most of all, other survivors. I have had amazing support through many women who today can call themselves survivors. They have helped me and guided me step by step. Whenever I was afraid, sad, or scared they were there to tell me it was okay. Diane, who has been my guardian angel through this process, is amazing. She checks up on me almost everyday. She understands when I tell her I’m scared. She just gives me a sense of relief that things will be okay. She has no idea how important to me she is. I don’t think I can ever repay her for all that she has done but what I can do is help others like she has helped me.

I am sure most of you have seen or heard of the movie Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants. In the movie, the group of girlfriends all share the same pair of pants as they travel around the world. Similarly, I am getting ready to start a journey using my hugwrap. I have a hugwrap which is a customized patient gown donated from Hugwraps.com. Brenda Jones, who is also a breast cancer survivor, realized how uncomfortable patient gowns are and came up with this amazing idea called hugwraps. It is a komodo style patient gown. I have worn mine everyday to my radiation treatments. Not only was it easier to put on and take off, everyone loved it because it was purple with butterflies.

One of my friends that I met along the breast cancer journey, Deb, will begin her radiation treatments in September. I am putting together a notebook with a short version of my story, my picture, a letter to Deb and I’m going to mail it to her with my hugwrap. What I am hoping will happen is that she will meet someone just as special as she is somewhere through her journey and pass it on with the notebook. I am hoping when the notebook gets full it will be mailed back to me and I can read about all these other amazing women’s journeys.

Who knows? Maybe I can publish it…

What is your idea of using your breast cancer journey to aid in the healing process of someone elses? We want to hear from you! Comment here or on our Facebook page.

10 thoughts on “My plan to help others heal

  1. Jaime this is an amazing idea!!!! I really hope you can publish this book one day, I’d love to read it. Also, I’m so happy that you’re done! Congratulations agian, and yes, the best is yet to come…wishing you the very best for the future!

  2. Jaime,
    What you have been able to take from this experience has been amazing! You truely are a survivor that is going to make a huge differnece in someone elses life!! I love you for this. Keep up the great work and stay strong you are a remarkable person and friend!!
    Your BFF,
    Jenn

  3. Such an amazing and touching idea! I loved reading Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants, and your take on it is so beautiful…while this disease has taken much from you, it has given you far more; the way you share your story, struggles, and support is so admirable and so very special. I love you so much, and as always, am so proud of how you have faced this challenge with so much strength and generosity…so inspiring!

  4. I’m a breast cancer survivor t0o. It will be 7 yrs. this coming November. I love the idea of what you are doing. When I went through chemo one of my “sisterhood” friend’s Georgeann sent to me a box of headwear, from night caps to everyday head dresses as she knew I wasn’t comfortable wearing a wig. I also loved just wearing bandanas. Good luck to you and I hope you get lots of responses; its a great idea and would love to read your story some day. As for me I have my own story which I have told through the Making Strides Against Breast Cancer events. It is very powerful getting the message out that there are others like us it is a “Sisterhood”. Good health, live, love and laugh!
    Rita

  5. What a wonderful story you have to tell of your journey. You comfort another just as someone comforted you. Continued strength and blessings.

  6. Yes!!! The best is yet to come. If you have dark times (which is totally normal) just repeat – YES!!! THE BEST IS YET TO COME.
    I am in my 6th year of post treatment. I haven’t found an accurate term for my status yet. My life is so much richer as a result of what I have experienced.
    Thank you for you lovely ideas of sharing your hugwrap. I will remember your idea when I meet someone who will be approaching a cancer journey.
    God bless you and much health.

  7. I just happened upon this site today and have been reading so much information. I was diagnosed on 5/9 of this year, just 3 weeks after my turning 50. (I’ll never forget this b-day). I’ve been struggling with the flood of information, seems like everyone wants to send you something, or sign you up for something. I know they mean well, but at times it’s overwhelming and a constant reminder of what I am having to go through.
    On your topic of garments, I came across a website that sells a camisole that has a velcro front, and pockets on the inside to hold your drains. I immediately purchased this garment, received it within a few days and wore it home after my double mastecomy. It made the hassle of enduring my drains a bit more comfortable, when having to go to doctor appts, being in public, etc., as it was easier to conceal them and avoid the stares. It was so soft, with a touch of lace/ribbon on the trim, so when looking in the mirror at myself, at least I still looked feminine. I’m not sure I can post the website here or not, but the name of the name of the family owned company is Gentle Touch Mastectomy Products, Inc.
    I wished I had known of your hugwrap. Lord knows a hug can do wonders and any garment that is comfortable and makes you feels good is well worth its weight in gold.
    Thank you for sharing your idea and hope you can get your book published. It would be an inspiring read for someone like me who is so new (and uneducated) on this life changing experience.
    God bless and continued good health and happiness. -Liz

  8. I think you should go all the way! I too started the process of a journal entry by way of a blog since my diagnosis. It has helped me as well as others. I thought of the same notion to have it published or write a book. You have inspired me so I hope I have inspired you Dream Big and Go For It!

Leave a Reply

