I’m a pirate!

This entry was written by Jackie Roth, PhD student at Thomas Jefferson University. Jackie was diagnosed with Stage III A breast cancer at the age of 28. Every other Friday, throughout the entire year of 2011, Jackie will share a blog entry about her breast cancer experience. This year-long blog series is in honor of LBBC’s 20th anniversary.

To read Jackie’s previous entries, enter “ Jackie Roth” in the search box on this site.

This July represents one year since being diagnosed with breast cancer.  Thinking about the past year, I can’t help but recall all of the different ways that people have been so kind to me.  It is so amazing what people, even complete strangers, will do for someone in need of help.

At the beginning of my treatment, I didn’t know how I would continue to run our household as well as take care of myself.  I was used to cooking dinner every night, and I just had to accept the fact that I would not be able to do that anymore. So throughout my treatments, various friends took turns bringing prepared meals and groceries over to our house.  My boss even got us a bunch of gift cards to the grocery store which we appreciated so much.  My husband Ron gets very nervous in the kitchen because he thinks he is a bad cook, which is not true. However, all of the help we received definitely took a lot of pressure off of his cooking skills and ensured that we were well fed in the past year!

In addition to food, I received flowers, emails, books, stuffed animals, and even a real animal.  My cat, Cera, was a gift from Ron for completing the first few rounds of chemotherapy!  We are not allowed to have pets in our apartment but my landlord allowed us to have the cat after he talked to Ron and heard about my diagnosis.  I was certainly glad to have Cera keep me company on the weeks I spent at home after chemotherapy and surgery.

I have also received cards.  A total of 162 cards in the past year, which comes out to one almost every other day.  I keep them in a big vase in our living room.  I don’t really have a favorite card because I appreciate all of them so much, but one that stands out in my mind came delivered in the midst of my chemotherapy sessions from my grandparent’s friend Mary Helen.  The card reads “If people ask why you’re wearing a scarf on your head and you say it’s because you’re a pirate…they’ll have no follow-up question!”  This card brought such a smile to my face even in one of the hardest times of my treatments.  I never had the chance to try out the line from the card, probably because I don’t recall anyone asking why I was wearing my scarf!

I don’t really know how to say thank you to everyone that has done something for us.  I know that these people are not expecting anything in return and are helping because they care about me.  I’ve written some cards and given out some small gifts in return, but sometimes it dosen’t feel like enough.  In the end I just want them to know how thankful I am and that I will be there for them in their time of need.

To read Jackie’s previous entries, enter “ Jackie Roth” in the search box on this site.

When going through treatment, what types of funny gifts did you receive? Comment here or on our Facebook page.

2 thoughts on “I’m a pirate!

Leave a Reply

