Celebrating my time away from it all

This entry was written by Jaime Rossano. Jaime was diagnosed with 2B invasive ductal carcinoma breast cancer. Jaime, an instructor at a play and music facility, is alsocollege student pursuing a degree in Humanities and Social Science Every other Friday, Jaime will share a blog entry about her breast cancer experience. This year-long blog series is in honor of LBBC’s 20th anniversary.

To read Jaime’s previous entries, enter “Jaime Rossano” in the search box on this site.

Usually when my birthday comes around I just think of it as another day. Not this year. I feel like with every birthday, holiday, or a reason to celebrate – now I have to celebrate. I want to make it big and memorable. I feel like maybe in the past I have missed out on so much because I was just too busy or because I wasn’t up to doing it.

This year I turned 28. My parents booked a hotel room for us to take our little family to the shore for the weekend. It took me a week to pack everyone’s stuff just to make sure I wasn’t forgetting anything (having chemo brain an all). It looked like I was going away for a month! We left bright and early on Saturday morning and arrived at the beach by 10am. The weather was gorgeous. The water was a bit on the chilly side but felt great once you got used to it. Ronnie loved the beach. You would catch him playing with his buckets and shovels. He LOVED the ocean. If he could be a fish, I bet he would. The weekend went by pretty slow. It was slow enough for me to enjoy the time I had with my husband and son and not have to worry about doctor’s appointments or feeling sick.

I did have to worry about the sun. I globed on sunscreen and sat my butt under the umbrella when I was on the beach. I enjoyed watching Ron take Ronnie in the ocean and seeing them both smiling and laughing. I took a few pictures of Ron and Ronnie digging holes in the sand. The most amazing gift I received for my birthday this year was from my best friend. She took so much time in making me the most amazing scrapbook picture frame with all of our pictures from the last few months. I have it hanging on my dining room wall so every day I get to see one of the best people I have in my life. She has truly been my umbrella through this storm.

Ron and I celebrated our three year wedding anniversary on the 28th, Ron decided to take me out to dinner at Chilis. It was great. We were in the middle of eating our appetizers and Ronnie was being his very social self with the people on the other side of the wall when he turned around to me and said, “mom” really loud and pulled my bandana off! I just wanted to curl up and die but I laughed and Ron laughed. I just put it back on my head and ignored the fact that he just did that. I have been wearing my bandanas for 6 months and he has never done it in public. I guess there is a first time for everything. I don’t know if anyone saw it happen but I would hope that they would have laughed with me. We finished up dinner and headed home because it was way pass Ronnie’s bed time. It was a great date.

Radiation has officially begun; I had my first treatment on June 30. It was a little scary for me because I didn’t know what to expect. It was painless and odorless just like they said. I think the machines are what makes things more scary then what they really are.  I will have 28 treatments to my chest wall and 25 treatments to my neck and lymph nodes. The plan is to finish up the second week in August.

An update on Ronnie: He now tries to count to ten, 1,2,3,5,8,9,10. He moved up to his new classroom at his daycare. They started potty training last week and boy-oh-boy is he excited. We have an Elmo potty seat and pull ups. He has gone a few times but mainly just wants to take his diaper off and run around naked or wants a sticker even though he doesn’t go. It has been fun watching him the past few months and seeing the changes and how grown up he is and he’s only two. I can’t wait to see what comes next.

To read Jaime’s previous entries, enter “Jaime Rossano” in the search box on this site.

3 thoughts on “Celebrating my time away from it all

  1. I am glad your chemo is over… Just hang in there a bit longer for the radiation treatments to be over… Then you move forward with your life and always have positive thoughts in your head…..love Marie

  2. I love you so much and I was happy to take the time to build that collage to last us a life time!! To see you enjoy your birthday this year meant alot speaking all that you have been through!! keep up the good fight you make fighting breast cancer look easy!! Love lots!!
    Your BFF,
    Jenn

Leave a Reply

