Purple is the new Pink

This entry was written by Jaime Rossano. Jaime was diagnosed with 2B invasive ductal carcinoma breast cancer. Jaime, an instructor at a play and music facility, is alsocollege student pursuing a degree in Humanities and Social Science Every other Friday, Jaime will share a blog entry about her breast cancer experience. This year-long blog series is in honor of LBBC’s 20th anniversary.

To read Jaime’s previous entries, enter “Jaime Rossano” in the search box on this site.

There was no staying up late on Saturday night as for our Sunday morning was going to start before the birds were awake. We arrived at the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure in Philadelphia bright and early. We were ready to go. Before the walk began, I watched all 6,000 survivors in their bright pink survivor t-shirts gather together holding hands, hugging one another, wiping their eyes and smiling because they can call themselves “survivors.” It was so overwhelming and such an amazing experience to watch all these beautiful men and women, young and old, walk their way down the Art Museum steps. As for myself, I did not stand on the steps this year although I am technically considered a survivor; I don’t feel that I am a survivor until this mess is over.

As for my team we stood out in the crowd with our purple jackets. On the front of our jackets was a ribbon and inside it said “be fierce, be strong, be me” and on the back of our jackets was our team name Purple is Our Pink. Ronnie’s jacket was grey and on the front under the ribbon it said “I’m supporting my mommy” and on the back was our team name. I cannot begin to tell you how many people asked us what our team name stood for because it didn’t involve some form of the word “boobies.” The reason why I choose this name is because I hate the color pink. Just because I have breast cancer, I don’t have to like or embrace the color pink. In my world, purple is my pink. I adopted purple as my breast cancer color. Also, I like to be different.

LBBC has never used the pink ribbon or the color pink in any of its marketing or branding. Instead, LBBC chose to use the colors purple and yellow and the image of a butterfly as a unique and inclusive image for all women who seek our services- both those who identify with the pink ribbon and its narrative and those who do not. For LBBC, Purple is the new Pink!

No, I did not RUN in the race. I walked the 5K (3.1 miles) with my head held high and my friends and family by my side with all the other survivors and their families and friends.  My uncle ran in my honor and placed 35th out of over 1,800 people with a time of 21 minutes 7 seconds. It was so overwhelming. There were so many amazing people. We walked 3.1 miles. It felt like forever. At each mile marker there were cheerleaders standing on the sides of the street cheering everyone on. It just made me smile to know that so many people are helping to find a cure for this horrible and devastating disease. There were 40,000 people doing the only thing they can do for us: Walk. The 3-mile walk was to support us and help our dreams to come true of never having to face this disease again.

I hit mile-marker two and realized that my body had enough. I could have taken the side street (shortcut) back to the Art Museam but I chose to keep on going. I pushed myself and with support, encouragement and love from everyone walking for the same goal, I was able to push through. When I reached the finish line, I cried. I DID IT and no one had to carry me!

LBBC, fall conference, yoga on the steps

Jaime’s Team! Check out Ronnie in the stroller supporting Mom.

To read Jaime’s previous entries, enter “Jaime Rossano” in the search box on this site.

Join Living Beyond Breast Cancer for our signature fundraising event this Sunday, May 15th. We will be hosting an outdoor yoga class followed by a Healthy Living Expo rain or shine! Register or make a donation today for Yoga on the Steps!

2 thoughts on “Purple is the new Pink

  1. It was an amazing way to spend mothers day!! Love you and I am so proud that you finished that long ass walk!! Your always going above and beyond what you think you can!! Great job
    Love ya,
    Jenn

Leave a Reply

