I’m ready to start giving back

This entry was written by Jaime Rossano. Jaime, an instructor at a play and music facility, is alsocollege student pursuing a degree in Humanities and Social Science Every other Friday, Jaime will share a blog entry about her breast cancer experience. This year-long blog series is in honor of LBBC’s 20th anniversary.

To read Jaime’s previous entries, enter “Jaime Rossano” in the search box on this site.

I keep wondering to myself why would this come at a time that was so inconvenient. I have to admit, I like schedules, I like order and I like organization in my life. How is it that at the age of 27 when I’m trying to get my life in order this happens to be “my destiny?” I have no health insurance. I only work part-time so I can be home with Ronnie, the reason I’m living. My husband, luckily after two years of unemployment, was starting a new job when I was diagnosed. Breast cancer, your timing sucks!

How will I afford the treatment for Breast cancer? Do they take loans, grants or payment plans? What am I going to have to do to get help? How will I get treated? Who will pay for it?  

It seems that there are several government-run programs out there to help. I was lucky enough to hear through the grapevine about a program called CEED (Cancer Education and Early Detection). This program is provided through Cooper and Virtua health systems in New Jersey. As soon as you find a lump, you need to contact them immediately to get assistance. The program will guide you from beginning to end, paying for everything. We didn’t have the money to pay for all the doctor visits, tests, blood work, scans, surgeries, chemotherapy and radiation – treatment costs a fortune.

Now it is my time to pay it forward. I have scheduled myself, my friends, and family to walk in the Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure in Philadelphia this year. I always wanted to do it but never thought I could. I’ve had a relationship to the walk because my aunt, who is now an angel above us, and my second cousin, who is currently cancer free, had breast cancer. Now, participating in this race means more since I am the one with breast cancer. I am walking to celebrate the battle that I will overcome.

Due to Mother Nature, I rescheduled my consultation with my radiation. I ended up with a sinus infection the week after chemo and this week my battle was pink eye. I am tired of being sick and this is just the beginning. Every time I touch my head, my hair falls out like the jimmies that don’t stick to an ice cream cone. I am glad that I own a dust buster for my pillow.

Although the battle I am going through is kicking my butt, I feel like I am floating every day. I am relaxed and happy. I seem to find the sunlight during the storm.

year-long blogger, CEED, Cancer Education and Early Detection, cis b golder grant, LBBC 20th anniversary

Ronnie has been enjoying the snow storms!

I know that where I was before my diagnosis is not where I am going to be at the end of my recovery. I look at things differently now. It’s hard to describe and I am sure my “sisters in pink” would understand what I am trying to say.

I again am going through a nesting period. While I was checking out at Shoprite, the cashier asked me if I was preparing for the end of the world. If he only knew!

After reading Jeanne’s blog: You are exactly where you are supposed to be – it really got me to thinking. My life has changed and I am actually embracing the change.

Jeanne had a purpose for her life after her breast cancer diagnosis. She wanted to make an impact and found her way by committing to Living Beyond Breast Cancer and the annual fundraising events that they host to benefit women and families affected by breast cancer. I hope to follow the same theory as Jeanne did. Are you where you are supposed to be?

If you live in the Philadelphia region and you need financial assistance to cover breast cancer related costs, please call 610-645-4567 to learn more about the Cis. B Golder Quality of Life Grant.

Be sure to read Jaime’s previous entries, by entering “Jaime Rossano” in the search box on this site.

4 thoughts on “I’m ready to start giving back

  1. Jaime,
    If you live in Pennsylvania, The Pennsylvania Breast and Cervical Coalition may be able to help pay for treatment. They have a wonderful program and they are committed to making sure you get the treatment you deserve. Reading your words is inspiring.

    • Hi Hugsforstrength,

      I wanted to thank you so much for the beautiful scarf. I will we wearing “Cindy” on my shoulder on Tuesday. I also will be sending you some fabric when this is all over with as well. Thank you so much for your support.

  2. Jaime,
    I had my second chemo today, so you and I are on a similar schedule. One thing I was told was that for the first three days or so after chemo, I shouldn’t kiss my husband, I should wash my laundry separate from everyone else’s, use a separate towel, etc., in order to avoid exposing my loved ones to the chemo drugs coming out of my pores, urine, etc. (sorry to sound gross) I don’t have kids, but you have your little guy, so I just thought I’d mention this in case your doctors haven’t. Sometimes I’m amazed at the stuff we have to find out on our own! Be brave, girl. You’ll get through this.

  3. Hi Sandra,

    Thats one more chemo to check off the list. We are getting closer to then end although it feels really really far away. Yes, my doctor ran through a couple of those things as well as finding out some things for myself. If you are getting the neulastin shot the day after chemo combined one claritin (not the d) and 600mg of advil and a really warm bath several times a day and it helps not much but I am not sure what the pain feels like with out my medicine cocktail. I read about it and asked the doc and she approved it for me. Thank you for reading and hope and look forward to seeing your comments on my next blog.

Leave a Reply

