This Thanksgiving I have so much to be thankful for

This entry was written by Dana Dukes, LBBC volunteer. Dana’s bright spirit and strong faith help her achieve the highest potential of quality of life in her journey with breast cancer. 

This is the holiday where to some, it’s just a day to go from house to house and eat all you can, watch every football game, and even go to the parade. It’s not only those things for me, but Thanksgiving is a time for me to show my gratitude to all of those who have been there for me. Most of all, however, this holiday is the time where I give thanks to my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.

Some might say “Dana, how can you be so thankful? You have breast cancer.” I have no choice but to be grateful. I could have gotten my diagnosis and then the next year, month, or even day, I could have fell victim to the disease. But three years have passed and I’m still here. I give all praise and thanks to my Lord. He keeps blessing me over and over again!

“Dana, how can you have an attitude of gratitude while you have breast cancer?” My recent scans came back showing that some of my tumors are decreasing while others that were once visible are not even showing anymore! He didn’t have to do it, but He did. Even when things don’t look too well, I’m still thankful because I know that it will be all right.

As we all gather around the table for prayer, I will first give thanks to God for my healing, life and all provisions that He ordained to me. I’m thankful for all three of my children who seem to be doing well in school and really taking their education seriously.  For all those who in one way or another played a role in my journey with breast cancer in a positive way, especially my mom and kids – I am thankful.        

 1 Thessalonians 5:16 – 18

 16: Rejoice always.

       17: Pray continually.

 18: Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.    

As you spend time with loved ones, cheer at the games, and eat all the food — be sure to give thanks.

 

HAPPY THANKSGIVING from Dana Dukes and the staff at LBBC!

living beyond breast cancer, metastatic breast cancer

Dana has been living WELL with metastatic breast cancer for three years. She credits her faith for bringing her this far.

6 thoughts on “This Thanksgiving I have so much to be thankful for

  1. Dana, congratulations. You have truly inspired me and you are so correct with your feelings. Please enjoy this Thanksgiving holiday with your family. Best wishes to you and your family and to the entire Living Beyond Breast Cancer staff.

  2. hi dana i will be praying for you in every prayer that i say you can beat this it’s noting but a prayer away. other than that how are you doing and how are the kidds. i left you my number give me a call.

Leave a Reply

