The “will” to get through and live

This entry was written by Vivian Rivera, one of the 25 finalists chosen for the White House / Black Market photo shoot in New York:

I was recently diagnosed with Breast Cancer. I have decided one of my steps to fighting breast cancer would begin with the “Making Strides against Breast Cancer” walk. I named the team “Chosen Butterfly;” this word fits not only the period in my life, but the way I am deciding to live the rest of it. I have been CHOSEN…to live…to love…to be a witness…to experience…to be an example…to teach!

I am going into this with faith, friends, family and most importantly, God. Signed, broken, but not defeated!

After four months of chemotherapy and the struggle just to get out of bed to use the restroom, I suddenly realized that this is the battle everyone is talking about: the “will” to live and the “will” to get through the effects of chemo. It not only kills the cancer cells but destroys the good ones. What is going to make me survive this battle is the “will” to get through it. I fully comprehend the compassion and respect that survivors have for each other, the brotherhood of love and understanding. I now run to the newly diagnosed. Sometimes words do not need to be exchanged but still I will be right by their side, seeing them through and holding their hands every step of the way.

 

white house black market, living beyond breast cancer, photo shoot

Vivian Rivera will be featured on the CBS Early Show, tommorow, July 1. Check your local listings for show times in your area.

If you’re in the New York area, come support LBBC and the 25 finalists of the White House / Black Market photo shoot! Join us at 7am at the Early Show plaza located on 59th street and 5th avenue. See you there!

 

5 thoughts on “The “will” to get through and live

  1. VIVIAN YOU ARE SUCH AN INSPIRATION TO ALL. SINCE THE DAY I MET YOU THE STRENGH THAT IVE SEEN IN YOUR EYES AND THE SUNSHINE YOU BROUGHT TO US MADE ME BELIEVE YOU ARE AND ALWAYS A FIGHTER.
    I LOVE YOU AND CONTINUE TO KEEP UP THE FIGHT NOT ONLY FOR YOURSELF BUT FOR OTHERS THAT YOU INSPIRE………..

  2. Vivian – While we have yet to meet in person, as of late, we’ve been social network friends for the past few months and I must tell you that you’re thoughts and words of positivity while going thru your journey were and are enlightening! – I see how you support those afflicted and lend support any way u can. I’m glad I had the opportunity to connect with you via our lovely Miss Jess Cortez (who while she goes thru her own struggle, is also LIVING STRONG, its no wonder you guys are friends) I look forward to seeing you soon doll – Sigue pa lante, God is good! You are chosen!! As the saying goes God always tests those who are resilient and he won’t give you nothing you can’t handle – I applaude u! xoxo

  3. Vivian what an inspirational women you are ! We have known each other for so many years and I have to say that when I heard of your cancer for some reason I knew in my heart that your faith and strong will would help you through this obstacle in your life and it did my friend!
    I applaude you for helping others to have the “will” to fight.

  4. Just to recap miss Vivian Rivera has passed away last night …. god rest her soul….. please keep the fight alive

  5. Pingback: A form of sisterhood that is only found through breast cancer « LBBC's Blog

Leave a Reply

