Going Along My Journey With My Support Team

This post was written by Dana M. Dukes, diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer:

I am so thankful to God for the people He allowed in my life, and not only allowed to be in my in life, but a blessing to me and my children as well.

Never underestimate the power of a great support team. God didn’t design for us to be on this earth alone. When life’s challenges come into our lives, we all need someone who’s going to be by our side.

My support team consists of my mother – who is my rock- my children, family, friends, church-family, neighbors, and healthcare team.

My support team has done some awesome things for me, and I just can’t stop thanking God for them being in my life. He really has blessed me with a great group of friends.  They have not only have been there for me, but for my children as well to make sure that they don’t lack for anything during my down times.

I do realize that there are some people who don’t have any kind of support team at all; even their healthcare providers can be harsh. For these people I pray for. I pray that they can at least find that one person who cares about what they are going through. But, this is where we all can become a support to others. I plan to support and encourage others and show them that there is hope out here. To let them know that weeping endures for the night, but joy comes in the morning; hope, grace, mercy, faith, love, and as the sun shines, a healing comes in the morning. I think it’s important to allow my light to shine for others to see.  I love my support team, they pray with me, praise with me, look out for me, and hold me up when I’m tired and need to rest.

At one time I didn’t even seek help myself, even when people asked to help me, I would just say “I was fine” – even if wasn’t- I would just turn them away at times. Then I began to realize that God has sent people to be a blessing to me and that it was alright to be blessed.  When we ask for God to help us it’s people He uses to do so and sometimes someone we wouldn’t even expect.

So I don’t take for granted the blessing God has given to me in my support team. It’s now time for me to be a support,  as I go out and tell my story-  and keep the faith in the midst of my journey, as I give my support.

 

Dana M. Dukes of Philadelphia lives everyday “one day at a time”

Dana relies on her medical team, family, church and spirituality as her support system. Who do you rely on? Who helps you through your journey? Share your thoughts here or on our Facebook page.


Leave a Reply

