Compassionate Hands for Those In Need

This entry is by Kelly Turner on behalf of her interview with USmile Magazine:

I was working at the New Haven Police Department when I was diagnosed with stage-three breast cancer in July of 2001.  I needed to take a medical leave of absence, short-term disability, due to my medical condition.  I stopped receiving my normal salary, and my income could not cover all of my monthly expenses.

My colleagues at the New Haven Police Department started a fundraiser for me to make sure that I was taken care of because my salary was reduced significantly due to my short-term disability.

A few weeks into my treatment, I ran into a friend who was losing her home and her business because she was unable to work due to cancer and was unable to her pay bills.

After listening to her story, I became inspired to help people like my friend.  I felt so blessed to have my colleagues raise the funds that I needed to pay my medical and other expenses.   I wanted to do for others what my colleagues were doing for me.  At that point, I was inspired to start The C.H.A.I.N. Fund because of my own breast cancer journey.

But, I wanted to take it a step further.   I wanted to provide the emotional support and encouragement, as well as help with their financial issues.  After recovering from breast cancer, I started The C.H.A.I.N. Fund.

The C.H.A.I.N. Fund is like no other organization.  I try to make myself available 24-7 so women can call me at any time for support and encouragement, as well as financial assistance.

We raise funds through several programs.  Our most popular fundraiser is the breakfast and a movie.  This particular fundraiser is centered around Tyler Perry movies.  It is exclusive to The C.H.A.I.N. Fund.  We host a full-catered gourmet breakfast any time a Tyler Perry movie is released.  We serve a gourmet breakfast first followed by the move.

Another favorite is the hat brunch luncheon, which is a personal survivor luncheon.  The luncheon features four survivors of any type of disease.  It consists of a full breakfast and brunch buffet.

On the last Sunday in June, we host the Ride to Provide bike tour.  This event is a one-and-a half mile bike ride through Connecticut.  After the ride, everyone meets up for a fantastic BBQ.  We also host the Purpose Filled Award black tie dinner in November.

My goals are to have a sister chapter of The C.H.A.I.N. Fund in every state.  I usually receive calls from all over the country from people who are looking for help, but I am unable able to help them because we do not have the resources available in their state.

I feel this is my way of giving back to the community and my country for everything my colleagues have done for me.

To learn more about The C.H.A.I.N Fund organization, visit the website.

Like the C.H.A.I.N Fund organization, LBBC strives to assist women in the Philadelphia region who are in financial need and who are affected by breast cancer. The Cis B. Golder Quality of Life Grant makes this possible. Since 2006, LBBC has dispersed over $325,000 through the Cis. B Golder Quality of Life Grant program, a grant founded in honor of a long time supporter and volunteer at LBBC, Cis Golder. Diagnosed with breast cancer three times, she grew more passionate about helping women affected by the disease who were less fortunate. Because of Cis’ inspiration, the Golder Grants provide necessary dollars, as well as renewed hope, to hundreds of women affected by breast cancer who are struggling through treatment and recovery.

Are you looking for opportunities to financially help women who are affected by breast cancer? Visit our website and find out how you can help LBBC empower all women affected by breast cancer to live as long as possible with the best quality of life.

Leave a Reply

