A Brigade for Breast Cancer

This entry was written by Gina Peracchia, who’s formed a fundraising team for Yoga Unites in honor of her mother:

I know of many people affected by breast cancer in some way. I’ve known friends’ mothers, grandmothers, etc. who were diagnosed with the disease, but never in my life did I think it would hit so close to home.

My mom was diagnosed with breast cancer on January 16, 2009. It took awhile for that fact to sink in, and myself, my dad and brother were constantly going through the motions. My mom was physically and mentally suffering, and none of us knew what to do. I believe she felt alone throughout much of the beginning of her diagnosis, but when she found Living Beyond Breast Cancer (LBBC), everything changed.

LBBC has become a huge part of my mom’s life. This organization undoubtedly gave her a new perspective on life and how to live for tomorrow. After hearing her talk week after week about LBBC, and learning that she started volunteering for them, I wanted to do something to help as well. She told me about Yoga Unites for Living Beyond Breast Cancer, and how she was planning on participating in the event this spring. Because I knew she’d be busy preparing for my wedding in April, I offered to help form a team for her. A few weeks ago, the 2nd Base Brigade was born.

Yoga is an amazing form of exercise, especially for our mental well-being. Besides being a great way to fundraise, I think it’s the perfect way to bring family and friends together, along with breast cancer survivors, to show them how much they mean to us. We want them with us for a long time to come, and Yoga Unites is a special way of helping to make that possible. I am proud to be a part of the 2nd Base Brigade, and I know my mom appreciates all of the support from her family and friends who will be participating in the event as well. My mom is looking forward to Yoga Unites, and I am happy to say that she will be participating as a one-year breast cancer survivor.

Everything I do that involves LBBC is not only for my mom, but for others living with breast cancer. Yes, it feels good volunteering and participating in an event for a good cause, but it’s different when you’ve seen firsthand what this disease can do to a person. Their will to live can sometimes fade, but LBBC helped my mom’s will to live grow. I’m hoping others will find that peace on May 16th as they climb the stairs of the Philadelphia Art Museum and engage in a little one on one time with their inner, vibrant spirit.

 

Get more information on Yoga Unites for Living Beyond Breast Cancer. Become a fan of the event on Facebook and follow us on Twitter.

Have you raised money for a loved one? Share your story by leaving a comment below!

(l to r) Gina’s mom Susan and Gina

One thought on “A Brigade for Breast Cancer

Leave a Reply

