Stop Just Existing…Remember to Live!

ronda-3To welcome in 2014, regular LBBC blog contributor Ronda Walker Weaver shares her positive thoughts on the new year and tips on how to set realistic and attainable goals as your resolutions. 

When I was newly married, trying to make a happy life and comfortable home on minimum wage jobs, a friend shared this message with me – “Sometimes we are so busy existing that we forget to live.” I decided I would make this my motto and do some living every day.

Well – life does get in the way of living sometimes, and we often just have to endure to make it through the discouraging day, depressing week, disheveled month. And really, existing sometimes takes all the energy a person has. I should know – correct? These past 2 1/2 years have certainly been more about existing than about living. I’m alive, although quality of life does come into play. But multiple surgeries, cancer treatments, and residual side effects can only control me to a certain point.

As I’ve mentioned before, this healing time has also been a time of grief for me; the grief I’ve felt has touched me to the depths of my soul – I’ve grieved the loss of me, the loss of the could-haves. But I refuse to linger there, standing in that murky pool of water called existing. I’m moving forward, perhaps slowly, but pushing, one wader in front of the other; the stream is calling, the fresh water called living bids me onward.

And with this new year upon me, I am focusing my intentions on what is upstream! I can’t wait to dip my toes into this new stream called 2014. My simple New Years resolutions are to live, to be excited about living.

A good goal may contain these elements:

1. Attainable – “Be kind to my spouse this year” may be unattainable, but “Work at being kinder to my partner” is doable.

2. Positive – Don’t trash talk your goals. Our mind hears positives, so perhaps “Eat healthy foods” rather than “Don’t eat so much junk food” is a better goal.

3. Goals should be for the individual – “Make my boss understand me,” probably won’t work, because it’s not about you. Whereas, “Work on my communication skills” is about you.

4. Action-oriented – “Ponder on the gifts of life” isn’t really measurable. Yet, “List 3 things a day I’m grateful for,” is achievable.

5. Trackable – Break your goals into edible pieces. “Lose weight” is tough to track, and if you wait until November to begin that goal, you may be disappointed. So instead, “Lose 2 pounds a month,” or “Exercise 45 minutes 3 times a week,” may be within your reach (remember, keep it positive, so do not say, “Don’t gain weight this year”).

6. Specific – “Write a novel” may be a worthy goal, but can you do it? How about “January – build an outline, February – set a list of characters, May – break outline into chapters”?

7. Bring Happiness – Set goals that make you roll-out of bed with happiness rather than dread! “Live in joy each day,” may bring with it a positive twist rather than “Never be grouchy.”

8. Flexible – Remember you have the right to start your day, week, month, year over at any time. Just because you didn’t get that outline finished in January doesn’t mean you should throw away your book goal. Don’t get discouraged – tomorrow is a new day.

Now remember the saying, “A goal not written down is only a wish”? So write those goals down, share them with someone who can “help” you be accountable, rather than “hold” you to accountability. And then begin!

My goals for 2014 include:

Be excited about today and tomorrow

Smile a little longer

Say, “I love you”

Do something uncomfortable

Dance a little (I’m having a Wii dance party for my birthday in January!)

Be calm, remove anxiety

Show gratitude, if only in thoughts and prayers

Be kinder to myself, to my body – I am a walking miracle

I’m not sure which streams I may “find myself” in this new year, but I will embrace what comes my way, learn my lessons well, and pack a few of those into knapsack, and travel on, living -

My New Year’s toast to you, my friends – May you be found with a handful of happiness, a simple solution to problems, and comfort in your chaos.

Ronda is 54 years old. She was diagnosed with breast cancer on Thursday, Sept. 6, 2012. She went through surgery, chemotherapy, and radiation. She teaches folklore and writing at Utah Valley University and works for an online education company, LearningU. She is using her recovery time to read, listen to music, garden, walk, play with her grandchildren, children, and enjoy her dear husband – who has been her pillar of strength through her journey. She also writes her own blog called Folklady’s Adventures.

7 Responses to “Stop Just Existing…Remember to Live!”

  1. Marilyn Speedy Says:

    Rhonda, I like your attitude! I’m 83, living with Metastatic Breast Cancer since 2005. I feel so blessed, because I have found my “JOY”… It is playing the organ, making music for myself and others. I feel like I am on this wonderful musical journey, always learning something new, and always having something to look forward to. so
    I’m looking forward to a Music -filled 2014!!

    • Anonymous Says:

      Thank you Marilyn. Music has certainly been a gift to me as well. Here’s to a new year filled with joyful melodies! Ronda

      • Breast Cancer Hospital Says:

        Also so we can do more for Women because they are the heavenly gifts of love and care to the mankind. Now, it’s our time to give them the respect and care that they truly deserve. We are sure; you will do the needful to retain the beautiful smile their faces. So, we appeal to you to please support us in carrying out this communication of social messaging to the lovely ladies you know and send them to us for free cancer screening.

        Wish you a very Happy new year to you and your family….

  2. Breast Cancer Hospital Says:

    I love your attitude about life and your positive thought also appreciate us to live more for our self and for other too..when we are suffering from deadly disease and find no one near to then we feel very sad…but your post really help us to fight against breast cancer…god bless you and And Best wishes and Wish you a Very Happy New Year
    Thank you

  3. Weekly Round Up | Journeying Beyond Breast Cancer Says:

    […] on her resolutions for the new year and Ronda Walker Weaver shares her thoughts in the latest Living Beyond Breast Cancer blog.    Shifting the focus from “shoulds” to a focus on meaning and attainability is […]

  4. Suicide Prevention Says:

    These are people who are usually faced with far too many problems on their plate for them eat.
    Panic attacks called specific are brought on, as also suggested
    by it’s name by specific repeated situations, and situational panic attacks may come while doing a certain type of activity, such as riding a cycle, even though there is no
    panic or fright involved with the activity. Meditation and visualization
    techniques take on many different forms.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 191 other followers

