The Annual Fall Conference Is This Weekend!

randi rentzLong-time LBBC blogger Randi Rentz will be attending her very first fall conference hosted by LBBC! After receiving her brochure in the mail weeks ago after much anticipation, Randi shares with us what she’s looking forward to the most…

I am super excited to attend Living Beyond Breast Cancer’s Annual Fall Conference on October 26th and October 27th at the Double Tree Hotel in Philadelphia. Wowsy. I can’t wait to get the latest information on breast cancer from some of the nation’s top experts.

Did you know Suzanne Dixon, MPH, MS, RD is one of the speakers? She is an internationally recognized expert in nutrition, chronic disease prevention, public health, and epidemiology, with over 150 invited lectures to professional and consumer audiences. Double WOWZA!

Not only is Suzanne Dixon author of scholarly publications and popular literature on nutrition and health ranging from chapters in medical and biological science texts to Cooking Light and self-help health books, BUT she was also named one of Time Magazine’s 50 Coolest Websites of 2005.  She also has been profiled and favorably reviewed in the New York Times.

I have to admit that the inner geek in me can’t wait to get her autograph! I’m secretly hoping to swap a few recipes, too, which of course is wishful thinking on my part. After all, we all know healthy eating after breast cancer is so important.

I’m also looking forward to attending a workshop on improving cognitive function. The speaker is Elizabeth Ryan, PhD, ABPP, Assistant Attending Neuropsychologist from Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center. She studies the cognitive and neurophysiologic aspects of cancer and its treatment with a focus on ameliorating cognitive problems. Boy, I can’t wait to hear what she says about chemo brain!

Can you believe my mind is still memory challenged and fog is omnipresent?  I am a couple years out, and acknowledge that I have developed some pretty great compensatory mechanisms. I am able to function at a relatively high level, but what people see on the outside is not always an accurate reflection of what is happening on the inside. I admit that chemo brain persists for me. Argh.

In an effort to take an active role in my own wellness, my goal is to do everything I can possibly do to counteract it. I’ll be taking copious notes during Elizabeth’s Ryan lecture!

There are so many more people presenting at this conference. I can’t think of a better way to connect with exhibitors, speakers, caregivers, and other women all affected by breast cancer. The conference will also give me a chance to expand my circles of support and gain insight into the resources LBBC has available as I navigate my life after a breast cancer diagnosis.

Have you registered yet?

Randi Rentz, graduated with honors from The Johns Hopkins University with a Masters degree in Special Education. She was an editorial assistant for a publishing company in suburban Washington, DC before becoming a special education teacher in a school district outside Philadelphia, PA. Randi currently is an Asperger’s Support Teacher for grades kindergarten through fifth. Presently, Randi has her own consulting company for children on the Autistic Spectrum where you can see her work at   www.helpforaspergers.com. She is a proud member, supporter, and blogger for many breast cancer organizations and never leaves the house without diamonds. Visit Randi at her web site at www.randirentz.com. Be sure to check out the teaser for her upcoming book “Why Buy a Wig…When You Can Buy Diamonds!”

For more information about the fall conference or to register, please click here.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “The Annual Fall Conference Is This Weekend!”

  1. Gilda Says:

    Dear Randi, I had read about the conference and would have loved to go, but was not able to go(money wise). I was too late to apply for a grant to go. I hope you post some of the interesting parts of the lecture so I can read about it

  2. susannj30 Says:

    Sharing my breast cancer story..
    How Cancer Became My Greatest Teacher and Taught Me how to Live! | A Time To Heal…

    http://naturallycurebreastcancer.wordpress.com/2013/08/27/how-cancer-became-my-greatest-teacher-and-taught-me-how-to-live/

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers

