Introducing My+Story

Kevin Gianotto is the associate director of marketing, public relations and corporate partnerships at Living Beyond Breast Cancer.  He’s worked for nonprofit organizations since 2002.

Two weeks ago, I attended a reception at the Dover International Speedway where I had the chance to introduce a number of individuals I met to the work we do at LBBC to connect people to trusted breast cancer information and a community of support.  The conversations I had that evening inevitably led to the opportunity for me to discuss what I am most passionate about here at LBBC –women who have been diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer, many of whom have become close friends, and the educational resources and support services LBBC has available for them.

52792_10151113120997285_1062790530_oMetastatic breast cancer—a form of advanced breast cancer also referred to as stage IV breast cancer—occurs when breast cancer has spread to other parts of the body.  Approximately 159,000 women in the United States are currently living with metastatic breast cancer, and this number is projected to increase to approximately 164,000 by the year 2015.

To raise awareness of Metastatic Breast Cancer Awareness Day on October 13, LBBC has partnered with the MedImmune Specialty Care Division of AstraZeneca to promote the launch of My+Story, an online resource center which highlights the needs of women living with metastatic breast cancer and calls attention to metastatic disease as a key component of October’s National Breast Cancer Awareness Month. Metastatic Breast Cancer Awareness Day was officially recognized by the U.S. Congress in 2009, following a grassroots awareness effort led by members of the Metastatic Breast Cancer Network (MBCN).

The My+Story site houses tools and information tailored for women living with advanced disease. The website is designed to connect patients with the information they need, and links to patient support groups that have specific programs for metastatic breast cancer patients—like LBBC and MBCN.

Visitors can learn about metastatic breast cancer and treatment options, find tips on how to take care of their bodies, and celebrate their life experiences by creating a hard copy photobook of personal stories that may be shared with loved ones. Women with metastatic breast cancer and those who are directly inspired by them can also create a personalized flower badge that can be shared at MyMBCStory.com and with their personal social media community to help raise awareness. In addition, supporters of women with metastatic breast cancer can visit MyMBCStory.com/awareness to download free educational materials and inspire members of their community to help raise awareness of the disease.

Other great interactive features (ones my social media team here at LBBC love) allow visitors to share their favorite images and information from the site with others via Facebook, Twitter and Pinterest. And, throughout the month, AstraZeneca will make a contribution to LBBC and MBCN each time visitors share content (up to a total of $28,000) in acknowledgment of the 28 years since National Breast Cancer Awareness Month was established and of the ongoing effort to bring metastatic breast cancer to the forefront. If you’re inclined, be sure to check out the site and let us know what you think.

2 Responses to “Introducing My+Story”

  1. Marylou Hodge Says:

    Hello….. I was told October of 2012 that a lump was found on the lower part of my left breast. I had many tests to be sure and to checks other parts, the right one and lymph nodes. In December of same year, I was told it was malignant. As I have two sisters who had breast cancer, a brother who died of cancer, and a mother who died of leukemia. My sister’s are by the way living and after. Their chosen treatment are survivors of 12 years. On December 17, 2012 I made the choice, with my doctor’s agreement, to have a double mastectomy. With GOD’s blessing, I recovered very quickly. The lymph nodes were cancer free. I now take tomoxifin and will take one daily for five years. I am a survivor of 10 months, and feel great. I have no side effects, except for a flat chest. THANK YOU for caring. Mary Lou Hodge.

  2. Breast Cancer Authority Says:

    What a great thing you are doing. My dear sister now has Stage 4 breast cancer in her liver. I am sure to place this message on. Thank you for serving this community.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 179 other followers

