Reset

???????????????????????????????LBBC would like to introduce Lucille Kasprack, a woman living with metastatic breast cancer who hasn’t allowed it to get in the way of fulfilling one of her most important dreams of being a professional artist! Here she shares her inspirational story about how she turned her diagnosis into a positive experience that ultimately changed her life in more ways than one…

Wow! If someone had told me 10 years ago that in May 2013 I would be exhibiting my artwork in a gallery in New York City I would have thought they were dreaming or a little bit crazy. But that is exactly what has happened to me after a long struggle with breast cancer. My journey started in 2003 with a diagnosis of Stage 1 breast cancer and we all know how frightening it is to receive that news. I decided I was going to tackle this head on; with my husband being my support, my art becoming my refuge, and God becoming my strength. Once surgery and radiation was over, little by little I felt like my old self again except for one difference. My approach to life was changed completely; nothing would be taken for granted ever again. Now my husband and family and my art became much more important to me. I set new goals for myself: appreciate and see my family more; and work hard at my art to become a better painter. And for the next 5 years that is what I did. We had more family get togethers and I took a lot of art classes and workshops and worked daily on my paintings.

In 2008, at my 5 year breast cancer check-up, an MRI and CT scan showed a spot under my left arm and 2 in my chest. A biopsy confirmed Stage 4 metastatic cancer. I now had to face the fact I will never be free of this cancer and I will have to reset new goals for myself. Those goals were to have more fun times with friends and family, and to not just work at painting but to work to become a professional artist, and to place my life in God’s hands. I started entering my paintings in juried art shows and exhibits and to my surprise they were not only accepted but also won prizes.

In 2011, I had to have thoracic surgery because the cancer had spread to my pleura. However, after chemo treatments and subsequent hospitalizations, my last PET scans have remained stable.

Then came 2012 and that “Wow” happened.  In the Spring I was contacted by the Agora Gallery in NYC stating that they saw my work on my website and were very impressed and requested that I submit a portfolio of my work for their review. At first, I didn’t believe it and then in time I realized what a great opportunity this was and I sent in my portfolio. A few weeks later I was informed that they would like to include my work in a future exhibit. I definitely said yes!  It turned out to be a lot of work but the end result is that my work will be on display in NYC from May 11 -31 with an artist’s reception on May 16, 2013. What an amazing journey! Never give up! I reached my goal and I am now a professional artist. I also received additional blessings. My fourth grandchild, Ashley, was born on November 13, 2012 and I continue to have stable PET scans!

Lucille is a 10 year breast cancer survivor and lives in New Jersey with her husband. She has 2 children and 4 grandchildren. Her husband is a retired school administrator and she is a retired  teacher but she continues to work daily on painting and drawing. She loves to experiment with different materials to keep it new and interesting. You can view her artwork on her website at http://lucillesartgallery.sharepoint.com!

Tags: ,

One Response to “Reset”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    Wonderful story. Your art work is beautiful.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 196 other followers

