Alysa Cummings: Yearly Check-Up

Alysa Cummings, Group Facilitator for LBBC’s writing workshop series Writing the Journey, shares a seasonal excerpt from her recently published cancer memoir, Greetings from CancerLand,  in February’s second submission to Living Beyond Breast Cancer‘s Writer’s Corner.

LBBC_WritersCorner

Yearly Check-Up

Excerpt from Greetings from CancerLand: Writing the Journey to Recovery

Fourteen years later and not much has changed. Not much. Not really.

Starting with the oncologist’s grand entrance.

He knocks twice, opens the door and hurriedly strides into the examining room. His energy speaks volumes (Places to go; patients to see. so many patients; so little time). I am sitting there, a veteran oncology patient, already changed, sitting on the edge of the examining table, a salmon-colored cotton robe wrapped around me.

Welcome to my yearly check-up.Cummings-Alysa_medium

As always, we begin by shaking hands. That’s our ritual. Then it’s my turn to smile and recite my opening line: so how’s my favorite oncologist?

Your only oncologist, to the best of my knowledge, Dr. C replies. There he goes – correcting me, reminding me of our running gag about his need for precision, his attention to detail. In CancerLand, Dr. C is a living legend with hundreds of patients’ medical records stored right in his head.  He won’t take any notes during the exam and somehow never forgets a date, dosage or chronic complaint. Maybe that’s why I’ll never complain about any quirky personality traits of his. An oncologist who’s a bit obsessive is a good thing, don’t you think?

Any lumps, bumps or bruises? Dr. C asks, moving briskly into Act One: The Physical Exam. I lie flat on my back. He modestly opens the gown, uncovering one side at a time, keeping the opposite side hidden, and presses the tips of his fingers in a circular pattern. Then he says the word I’ve been patiently waiting for (perfect) as he finishes with the left side and moves around the table to begin his exam of the right. Twelve years of exams later and like an addict hungry for a fix, I inhale the word (perfect), and savor how good it feels (I’m okay, I’m okay).

But honestly, is this ironic, or what? After all, there might be a short list of politically (and clinically) correct terms that could be used to describe my post-treatment upper body (altered? revised? reconstructed?) But perfect? Hardly.

Does this doctor who deals with so many breast cancer survivors know the impact of his word choice? Or is “perfect” the word this particular oncologist has decided to use with his patients to indicate that there’s no sign of disease? All I know is that perfect is a lovely word, and I can’t wait to hear him say it.

The exam comes to a predictable conclusion with light banter about our personal lives and those acquaintances we have in common, and that’s when I suddenly think of a word that I have to add to our yearly check-up script.

So, tell me, Alysa, Dr. C asks, moving towards the door, ready to conclude the exam. Overall, how was your year?

I’m ready with the perfect answer.

Unremarkable, I say, my year was unremarkable. And I see the doctor cock his head with interest. I have never used this term in our conversations before. Over the years, he has, of course. To describe my CAT scans, bloodwork and Breast MRI results. To report that everything is normal, that there is nothing out of the ordinary.

An unremarkable year, I repeat. No surgeries. I’m hoping that next year turns out to be another unremarkable year. Unremarkable totally works for me.

It certainly does.  And now that I’ve said it out loud, I need to step up to that challenge and day by day make it real until I’m in this examining room again, twelve months from today.

A disease-free reality; in my mind that’s the most remarkable thing I can imagine.

Living Beyond Breast Cancer will host another Writing the Journey Series this Spring, hosted by Alysa Cummings. And the good news is that there will be two different Writing the Journey groups in Spring 2013 – one in Cherry Hill, NJ and one in Haverford, PA.  Check back to the LBBC Blog for more insights from Alysa and future Writing the Journey creations.  You can purchase your own copy of Greetings from Cancerland, on Amazon.com!

15 thoughts on “Alysa Cummings: Yearly Check-Up

  1. I use the word “uneventful”. A quiet year with no noteable events. I’m a metastatic patient, but thanks to an awesome oncologist, a few prayers & great clinical trial — my past year was blessed and perfectly “uneventful”.

  2. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added”
    checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four e-mails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove my mothers daughter from
    that service? Bless you!

  3. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the
    video to make your point. You clearly know what youre talking about, why throw away your intelligence
    on just posting videos to your blog when you
    could be giving us something informative to read?

  4. That’s somewhat Offtopic, but i thought you could possibly give me an advice. On the subject of registering and hosting a domain name, I’m not sure what I must do.

    A. Should I register and host at the same place?
    Or B. Should I register my domain name with one company and host it
    with another? I would want to do A, but therein lies my problem.

    I want to register my domain name with GoDaddy, since I like their rates.
    However, I’d rather not host my site using them. What would be your choice?

  5. Hi! I’ve been reading your web site for a long time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from New Caney Texas! Just wanted to tell you keep up the good work!

  6. I run a barbecuing blog where I share my tasty recipes and secrets that
    I learn coming from my many years of preparing food.
    I try actually hard to improve my blog no less than three
    times each week. I’ve had the blog for about 3 months, which I assume is a pretty good amount of time. Still, my blog doesn’t get lots of visitors this is frustrating.
    When I look for my posts on Search engines, it is certainly hard
    for me to locate them. I found your site on the first page of Bing when i searched
    for Alysa Cummings: Yearly Check-Up | LBBC’s Blog, as a result i think you must be a very skilled, care to share some help and advice with me?

  7. Hello, i read your blog from time to time and i own a similar one and i was just curious
    if you get a lot of spam responses? If so how do you stop it, any plugin or anything
    you can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any help is very much appreciated.

  8. Hey there! I’m hoping you possibly can answer my question. I’m interested in a high grade WP theme,
    but I don’t know how to know if the one I select is going to be appropriate for cellular devices. What are some recommendations you can give me in regards to what to watch out for with regards to colors and background and factors like that? I usually check out websites via my Galaxy Note, and I’m going to
    guess that many folks are just like me in
    that way. Oops, i went a bit off topic, sorry. Appreciated the
    post thou.

  9. Hello,

    The World Health Organization recently released a new “Blue Book” on breast cancer that I feel will be of interest to you entitled WHO Classification of Tumors of the Breast.

    Please contact me if you express interest in writing a book review and/or posting information about this book on your website.

    thanks so much,
    Jennifer

  10. I own a whole new yoga studio in the Midwest. Believe it or not, I do not have
    a website yet. The issue is I’m not certain whether to choose Blogger or WordPress. I realize that I would like a lot more of a weblog feel than a web site feel, if that makes any sense. I want to be capable of update my site with weblog posts. Would you be capable of give a couple of pros and cons for going with either Blogger or WordPress? I really want to come to a decision fairly quickly on this issue, since it does not make sense for me to have this facility with out a website. It would be kind if you could give me some assistance. Please write to: agnesgoldberg@gmx.net if you have some time left. Thx, and btw great blog, i need my blog to be like yours one day!

  11. I really like your blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you create this website yourself or did
    you hire someone to do it for you? Plz respond as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to know where u got this from. appreciate it

  12. I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your site. It’s
    a very easy on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable for me to come
    here and visit more often. Did you hire out a designer to create
    your theme? Superb work!

Leave a Reply

