Jackie Roth: To Honor Our Mothers

In honor of Mother’s Day, Living Beyond Breast Cancer welcomes back to two bloggers who wrote for us throughout the entirety of their treatment. In this particular entry, Jackie Roth shares what Mother’s Day means to her as a woman living beyond breast cancer.

There are so many ways that we can choose to honor our mothers, wives, sisters and friends who have been diagnosed with breast cancer during the month of May.  Some people choose to do a walk, race, or large event together, while others choose things like dinners, cards, and just spending time together.  Unfortunately, I do not have these options to celebrate with my mom.  I cannot send my mom flowers, a card, or a gift.  I cannot take her to dinner or spend a day doing one of our favorite activities, which was shopping.  I cannot have her join me as I partake in the breast cancer awareness events during the month of May.I lost my mom almost seven years ago to colon cancer.  She was diagnosed at the age of 48 with Stage IV disease, and passed away at the age of 49, just six short months after being diagnosed.  She fought as long and as hard as she could, yet the odds were stacked so heavily against her.

Little Jackie and her mother

It has been so difficult getting through my cancer treatments without her. Mothers have a magical touch that can sometimes just make everything better, even if that thing is your own cancer.  I know that somehow she could make it all go away.  Although she was not here to hold my hand during chemo or take care of me after my multiple surgeries, I know that she was watching from above and protecting me along each step of my cancer journey.

So, the way that I will honor my mom this mother’s day is by surviving.  Continuing to get up and face the day no matter how sick my cancer treatments have made me feel.  I will spread the word about cancer and continue to work in my job as a cancer researcher.  My mom was not given much of a chance to survive, so I am doing it for her…for us.  I am almost two years out from my diagnosis, and I am preparing for my final reconstructive surgery next week.  This surgery represents a closing of the cancer chapter in my life and a chance to move on.

There are still quite a few days before I can think about becoming a mother myself.  My husband and I will not be able to have children for another 5 years or so due to my medications.  Ron and I do not know if we will face any challenges when trying to start a family because of all of the chemotherapy that I had.  But that is a challenge that is far off in the future and we both have hope that things will work out just the way they are supposed to for us.

It is wonderful to have so many events surrounding Mother’s day to show the women in our lives how much we care.  After I recover from my surgery, I will be celebrating with my grandmothers, mother-in-law, step-mother, sister, and friends.  My experience has shown that things can change quickly, so you should take each opportunity to honor your mothers and other survivors as if every day was Mother’s day.

How are you honoring the women in your life this Mother’s Day? Visit our website, here,  to make a donation to Living Beyond Breast Cancer in HONOR of the “mothers” in your life.

Tags: , ,

13 Responses to “Jackie Roth: To Honor Our Mothers”

  1. PinkKitchen (@PinkKitchen) Says:

    I love what you’ve said – the greatest gift to our moms is surely surviving! I am fortunate that my mom is still alive, and for all our differences, that was one thing I really value about her – she was really there through my treatment.

  2. Jackie Roth: To Honor Our Mothers « LBBC's Blog Treatment World Says:

    [...] more here: Jackie Roth: To Honor Our Mothers « LBBC's Blog No [...]

  3. Facing Cancer (@cancer2gether) Says:

    A wonderful way to honour your mother. May your recovery go well, and enjoy the day that honours women everywhere – mothers to be, mothers who are, and mothers at heart. Thanks for this lovely post.

  4. Kristen Says:

    Great entry Jacks. Your Mom is truly proud of all that you have accomplished and achieved. xo

  5. Paula Stoneking Says:

    Jackie, you are such an amazing young lady. I know your mother is watching over you. God Bless you and you are always in my prayers.

  6. Steve Lueckel Says:

    Wonderful sentiments, Jackie. Just saw you on TV. You are a Rock Star!!

  7. Robyn Says:

    I am so sorry that you are going through this! I love your positive attitude. I have women very close to me who are fighting cancer. I want to surround them with positive thinking! I recently read a book called, “It’s Just Hair: 20 Essential Life Lessons” by Judith L. Pearson. It is a beautiful non-fiction self-help book for women battling breast cancer or anyone facing a challenge. The book gives lessons in courage, humor, patience, acceptance, stress management and more. I really enjoyed reading each life lesson, each one is under 5 pages.

  8. KOB Says:

    My mom died of inflammatory breast cancer when I was 17. I was diagnosed with metastatic breast cancer in 2009. I think of my mom when I go to my treatment center. She didn’t have the online support options I do and it must have incredibly lonely for her. I do not have IBC. I try to raise awareness for IBC and MBC via blogging and other outlets. I do remember my mom beyond her cancer experience: http://ihatebreastcancer.wordpress.com/2011/05/06/six-things-my-mom-taught-me/

  9. Dale Says:

    You are amazing Jackie, and honor your Mom with everything you do!

  10. Anonymous Says:

    JQ Another job well done. Spoken from the heart, you truly are your Mothers’ daugther. Much Love and Support as your journey continues. Dad

  11. Shivira Says:

    Hey,
    I lost my mother at the age of 17 and I’m in awe of you being so strong. I hate cancer and I hope you recover soon and give it back to this horrible disease. The world needs people like you. Get well soon. Prayers with you,
    Shivira

  12. nizzuquvea@yahoo.com Says:

    Whoah this weblog is fantastic i like studying your posts. Stay up the good work! You understand, many persons are looking round for this info, you can help them greatly.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 199 other followers

