A surgery that’s not tough enough for Superwoman

This entry was written by Jaime Rossano. Jaime was diagnosed with 2B invasive ductal carcinoma breast cancer. Jaime is a college student pursuing a degree in Humanities and Social Science Every other Friday, Jaime will share a blog entry about her breast cancer experience. This year-long blog series is in honor of LBBC’s 20th anniversary.

To read Jaime’s previous entries, enter “Jaime Rossano” in the search box on this site.

So the nesting period has started again. I am scheduled for my reconstructive surgery on December 2nd. My plans for surgery have changed a little. Initially, I was planning on having the tram flap surgery but after a very long discussion with my oncologist and my plastic surgeon we came to the conclusion we are going to first try just using the expanders. If I am having issues then we will discuss the tram flap surgery. But for right now we are just taking my implants out and putting the expanders in. I will go once a week as long as I can handle the process to have them filled. By April I should be good to go for my final surgery and to have real boobs again. I’m excited but scared all at the same time.

It’s really weird. The past two months have been really slow with doctor’s appointments and starting next week it will be busy again. I think we spend more time waiting than we actually do with the doctors. I have to say I have met some really great people sitting in the waiting room. Normally, when I used to go to the doctors I would just sit there and read a magazine, now I find myself introducing myself and asking people about their story. I just feel that sometimes when a complete stranger asks you how you are doing you actually can be honest. I feel that it makes them a little more comfortable.

I met another amazing breast cancer patient a couple of weeks ago while sitting in my plastic surgeon’s office. I overheard her friend say, “I think you can do it, go a little bigger. The pain can’t be too bad.” At that moment I stopped and introduced myself. I asked her how she was feeling, where she was being treated and where in her journey she is. She explained to me that she is in the process of having her expanders filled every week and she really wanted to make it to a C-cup but she is at a B and didn’t think she could handle it anymore. Next thing you know her friends were asking me how old I was since I looked “too young” to have went through breast cancer. I graciously responded: “I’m 28 but I was diagnosed at the age of 27.” She was amazed. “My daughter is your age,” she said.

I feel that going through this nesting period again is bringing back so many memories. I was told this time around I would not be able to lift anything, including Ronnie, for the next 4 to 6 weeks. Really, I have to relive him crying for me and wanting to be picked up and I have to tell him, “mommy’s so sorry but I can’t.” He doesn’t understand. How am I going to make this work? I know I made it work the last time but also my parents took care of him for the first few weeks. Now, I am determined to take care of him while I recover. I know it’s not going to be easy and we are going to need to adapt to things differently. But hey – I feel like Superwoman now so bring it on.

I hope everyone had a happy Thanksgiving and I have to say I now understand the true meaning of being thankful.

How did you spend the holiday? What are you thankful for?

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “A surgery that’s not tough enough for Superwoman”

  1. Frannie Cool Says:

    Jaime, you really have become “super woman”, and since I’ve known you since you were very little I have to let you know how proud I am of you. You have come through some really tough times, and with each one you became stronger. Now you are planning on “paying it forward”, and I can’t think of anything better that you could do.

    Love you
    Frannie

  2. Anonymous Says:

    Jaime, good luck with your surgery. I hope only good things for you and appreciate and know what you are going through. Tough decisions to make. Have faith girl and things will work out. Don’t let others scare you either. Do you ever notice that when something is wrong other people have so many opinions. Listen to your docs and believe in what they say. I am sure you will be happy in the end.

  3. Keely Caprice Says:

    Hey J…..thanks for sharing your moment! I have tissue expanders and once a month since September I have been getting the saline injections to expand the tissue area…so far so good- no pain, just slight discomfort- which I like to call SWEET AGONY! I won’t have reconstructive surgery until next year but I am nervous- with all this said, CONGRATS and I am proud of you and always know “this too shall pass…” you were born healed if you believe in GOD bc by Jesus stripes we are healed!

    peace n increase
    keely caprice

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 191 other followers

