A year later with hair twice as long

It was a year ago that our corporate sponsor, White House | Black Market, partnered with us for a call-out to honor and highlight 25 inspiring women who are living beyond breast cancer. All 25 women were dolled up for an expense-paid photo shoot and then featured in White House | Black Market’s Breast Cancer Awareness Month catalog.

Wonder how the experience changed the women over the last year? Let’s hear Jodi Inverso’s story:

I can’t believe a year has gone by that I was on the set of The Early Show and in a penthouse studio being made over, with my mom by my side, by the most talented stylists for a photo shoot that changed my life forever.

When LBBC sent out an email asking for “the next survivor star” I submitted my photo and story about my breast cancer journey thinking it would be fun to participate and feel pretty again.  When I got the call that I was one of the twenty-five chosen, I was so excited! I felt like I won the lottery! I felt that finally, my luck had turned and something good was about to happen.  The time seemed so right especially since I’d just finished a year of surgeries and treatment.

I have to admit, I didn’t know what to expect or how this was the real deal. I had no idea that my face would be in the national ad campaign for White House | Black Market and in store windows, catalogs and magazines. I never thought that my breast cancer diagnosis could turn so positive and I would be a part of the 25 women who “inspire.” I didn’t think my photo or diagnosis would lead me to be an LBBC ambassador letting women know that young women can and do get breast cancer.

When I spread the word that I had been selected, my friends and family who had been by my side the entire journey could not be more excited.  They all tuned in to The Early Show where we waved from the side and were interviewed by the weatherman. They could not wait to see the photos, watch the video and go shopping.  They went to their local stores and were sure to tell the staff that their friend was in the ad. I was amazed to hear from old friends that saw the ad and had no idea what I had been through.

As more people saw my photo and asked about my story, I felt that I was able to bring more awareness to women about breast cancer and the fact that it can happen at any age. You have to be on top of your health. I also hope that by sharing my story I was able to empower other survivors to share their story and continue to raise awareness about breast cancer.

I can’t thank WHBM’s president, Donna Noce, and WHBM enough. It was like a fairy tale dream come true from the moment I went to my local store to get outfitted for television to dancing the night away at The Butterfly Ball in my beautiful dress with the other chosen women by my side. It was one of the first times that year that cancer was not the first thing on my mind. It was an opportunity to celebrate ME.  It also brought some amazing women into my life that I would have otherwise never met. 

Here I am a year later: a year further out from my diagnosis and my hair twice as long!

To hear more about Jodi’s personal journey with breast cancer, visit our website for her short video on a young woman’s perspective of being diagnosed with breast cancer.

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “A year later with hair twice as long”

  1. Tonya Huggins Says:

    This story has inspired me. My TNBC is back and just started Chemo again.. It was a year June 16 when I found my tumori am a mother of 3 teen and Preteen daughters. It has been hard. I am not looking forward to losing my hair again. I do believe something good will come out of this

  2. PinkKitchen Says:

    Jodi, I can hear the relief in your words. I am very happy for you. I am now 3 years out, almost four.

    Tonya, I have a 12 year old also. I can understand why you’d feel overwhelmed. But like you, I believe that something good will come of this. I wish you a quick and full recovery.

  3. David Haas Says:

    Hello,
    I have a question about your blog. Please email me at davdhaas@gmail.com
    Thanks,
    David

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 192 other followers

