No Plans for the Summer Because Every Moment is Special

4th Annual Conference for Women Living with Advanced Breast Cancer

If you are in college or are about to graduate college you always hear the phrase “What are you up to this summer” a lot. Mothers ask kids over the weekly Sunday phone call home. Your grandparents ask at family gatherings. Your professors ask when they run into you in the student union. Your friends ask at a crowded party. You are asked during job interviews. It can become a dreaded question!

I dread that question perhaps more than most, because my answer is always long winded. I hate being a “downer”. But I always take a deep breath and share. I have to share. My story, my plans are important.  This summer, I will be enrolling in a clinical trial. I am 26 years old, but I am enrolling in a clinical trial.

Five years ago, on June 3, 2005, I was diagnosed with Stage IV breast cancer.  I was 21 years old. It was two weeks after my college graduation. I had no family history of breast cancer. Two weeks after my Boston University commencement, I met up with a girlfriend at Starbucks. We had both just finished our first week at work and we were excited to commiserate. My phone rang while I was in line for my caramel macchiato. It was my mother calling to tell me I had breast cancer.

The fabulous post college summer plans I had made quickly changed and, instead of living with my four best friends, I moved home with my parents. I am going to be honest, I was more upset about moving in with my parents than I was about a cancer diagnosis. It wasn’t until the doctors found a tumor in my liver. It wasn’t until the doctors told me I was a Stage 4 cancer patient. It wasn’t before one doctor told me I had a 16% chance of seeing my 30th birthday that I stopped worrying about living the life I had planned and started wanting to fight for the life I still had.

So this summer, like almost every summer since my graduation five years ago, I will be spending this summer at the hospital.

This summer, I will be at the hospital for 4-10 hours each day, three days a week. I am enrolling in a Phase 1 clinical trial that looks at the toxicity of two chemotherapy drugs. The doctors are going to give me as much drug as I can physically handle before I beg for a break. I am enrolling in a clinical trial this summer that is designed to make me sick.

I take a deep breath and always share my story even though I hate sharing it because you all need to know that the life you have planned and set up for June may not turn out the way you expect.  Life is hard and crazy and never ever goes the way you have planned.

But remember, no matter what life throws at you, you will be just fine.  No matter what happens after you put on that black gown and goofy hat, stay true to yourself and you will be a fabulous success.

My life with cancer is really hard. I have lost a lot of friends because our lives are just so different. I am often too sick to go out on Friday nights. I have missed big birthday parties and events because I’ve had doctors’ appointments. I have had to change my personal and career goals. But I also love my life more than I ever would have without cancer. The friends I still have are the best friends a girl could ask for, and the times I am feeling well, when I do go out, I go out and I truly appreciate it.

The greatest lessons I’ve ever learned weren’t in the classroom, they were in the hospital room. So here is what I have learned:

Your parents: those parents whose blood, sweat, tears and $40 + thousand dollars brought you to this moment. Those parents you don’t want to move in with next month. They are your best friends. Contrary to what you may think now, they will not be here forever. They know you better than you know yourselves and they can help.

The best thing that ever happened me was moving in with my parents after graduation. I did not just live upstairs. I cooked dinner with them every night, my dad and I went on dates, I got to know my mom as a friend and not a mother. I learned about their first jobs and their graduate school experiences. I learned to turn to them for good and sound advice. In college, I spoke to my parents once a week. After college, I speak to my parents several times a day.

I’ve also learned to stop worrying about your answer to the question “what are you doing this summer?” or “what are you doing with your life?” Stop planning your whole life and setting certain goals to attain. Do not measure yourself based on the accomplishments of your peers. Life is too short to wish it away. Let go and enjoy where you are in this very special moment. Reflect on all that you have accomplished as opposed to planning for the next accomplishment. When I visited a doctor and he ran his hands through his hair and said, “I just don’t know what to do with you.” At that moment, I was forced to take stock of my life.

At that time, I had never been employed. I had never saved much money or even paid my own bills. I most certainly had never achieved all of the goals I set out for myself post college. I wanted to graduate and work for the CIA. That never happened and never will happen, but I am still a success.

I task all of you to spend some time today taking stock of your lives. Don’t take stock of your career goals or material possessions. Take a look at your character and at your relationships.  Take a look at the friends around you, because at the end of your lives, your relationships are what endure even after you are gone. Your relationships and your character are what matter and they are all that matter.

Tags: , ,

9 Responses to “No Plans for the Summer Because Every Moment is Special”

  1. Liliana Says:

    Dear Bridget,
    your story and your writing moved me deeply.

    You are my son’s age. I have a daughter who is about to turn twenty two.
    Your honesty and maturity are amazing.

    I was diagnosed with breast cancer five years ago (I was forty five at the time.) I write a blog about cancer, living, parenting, working, etc. I would love to feature your story. Would that be OK? Please let me know.
    My very best thoughts and wishes to you,
    Liliana

    http://graciouslivingdaybyday.com/2010/05/18/the-last-mammogram/

  2. Mary Says:

    Bridget,
    You are in my thoughts and prayers. You have a beautiful smile, a beautiful personality and a great attitude. Keep smiling and thinking positive thoughts.
    Mary

  3. Sue Says:

    I alway appreciate others stories and gladly share mine if it will help someone with their walk. We all learn to take one day at a time and be glad for that day, moment, hour. Keep the positive and let go of the negative. I find that I am not as tolerant with whiners and complainers but turn to those that know that we have to MAKE IT A GOOD DAY! Feel free to take a walk through my journey and daily blogs and journal and if I can help in any way, feel free to contact me through my website.
    Sincerely,
    Sue

  4. Martha Says:

    Bridget, thanks for your inspiring story, your guts to share it and your skill in doing so. You are a wonderful writer. You provide such a powerful reminder of the value of finding gratitude. I would love to read an update from you and I wish you the best as you embark on your summer plans.

  5. Caren Says:

    Hi Bridget:

    Your story was an inspiration to me. I am 42 and have stage IV. I am always looking for stories of inspiration to keep that dark cloud off my shoulders. The last few days I have been getting snippy and angry at the people I love most. You helped me put things back into perspective toay. Thank you.

  6. PEGI Says:

    Hi Bridget:
    To be truthful, I dont read LBBC website too much anymore…but for some reason today, I clicked on your story. And when I say I dont read it..I mean, I havent clicked on the website for a long long long time!
    But today, was different. Today, for an unknown reason, I met you and read your story. I am probably older than your parents, Bridget, but your soul has touched mine. By composing the way that you do, sharing what you share..your thoughts, your attitude, your soul….all I can say is “WOW” about you! You go girl! YOu have accomplished and learned at your young age, what many people never accomplish in their lives…the true meaning and purpose of life. You “get it”. Do you know how many people Ive heard complain about “the meaning or purpose of their lives” …and you, my dearest Bridget, GET IT. Your vivacious wonderful outlook and attitude reflect that ‘you get it”. And so….thankyou. Thankyou for brightening MY day, and touching MY life today. You are a very amazing soul. I love reading your thoughts. Thankyou for touching my life.

  7. Pamela Says:

    Bridget,
    You are my hero! The guts that you have…Wow! Thank you for sharing with me, and allowing me to walk with you on your journey. It’s not so lonesome anymore, because we are Sisters now.

  8. Jennie Says:

    Hi Bridget,

    I am 44 and have also had to endure breast cancer treatments. I agree with your comment. It is all about relationships.

    I teach part time. Recently I was in an interview and asked “What would I do to improve this school?” I answered, “well….really, it’s all about relationships.”

    I think the interviewer was looking for a more detailed answer…I didn’t get the job but I don’t regret my answer.

  9. bcpowersports Says:

    This is so true, you have to treat every day likes its the last, no excuses, and no regrets! Thank you for sharing your story

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 183 other followers

